United States Basketball Writers Association March 29, 2007
For Immediate Release
Contact: Joe Mitch
Duke pair, coach honored; Tennessee's Parker is Player of the Year

ST. LOUIS (USBWA) The U.S. Basketball Writers Association announced today its 2006-07 women's postseason honors. Tennessee's Candace Parker is the association's National Player of the Year, while Duke's Gail Goestenkors was chosen the USBWA Coach of the Year. Connecticut's Tina Charles is the USBWA's Freshman of the Year.

Parker, one of six repeat All-Americans, is the third Lady Vol to win the USBWA player of the year honor. Chamique Holdsclaw won the award twice in 1998 and '99 and Tamika Catchings was the player of the year in 2000.

Ohio State's Jessica Davenport, Maryland's Crystal Langhorne, North Carolina's Ivory Latta, Oklahoma's Courtney Paris and Stanford's Candice Wiggins each also repeated as an All-America selection. Davenport was selected to the team for the third straight season. Five of the ten players chosen are centers, as well as Charles, the freshman of the year. Wiggins and Paris are each past winners of the association's freshman of the year.

Following is the complete list of 2006-07 USBWA women's honors:

Player, School Pos. Ht. Cl. Hometown
Alison Bales, Duke C 6-7 Sr. Dayton, Ohio
Jessica Davenport, Ohio State C 6-5 Sr. Columbus, Ohio
Sylvia Fowles, LSU C 6-6 Jr. Miami, Fla.
Chrissy Givens, Middle Tennessee G 5-11 Sr. Monroe, La.
Lindsey Harding, Duke G 5-8 Sr. Houston, Texas
Crystal Langhorn, Maryland C/F 6-2 Jr. Willingboro, N.J.
Ivory Latta, North Carolina G 5-6 Sr. McConnells, S.C.
Courtney Paris, Oklahoma C 6-4 So. Piedmont, Calif.
Candace Parker, Tennessee F 6-4 So. Naperville, Ill.
Candice Wiggins, Stanford G 5-11 Jr. San Diego, Calif.
Freshman of the Year
Tina Charles, Connecticut C 6-4 Fr. Jamaica, N.Y.
Player of the Year: Candace Parker, Tennessee
Coach of the Year: Gail Goestenkors, Duke

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association, formed in 1956, has named a women's All-America team since the 1996-97 season. The association has also named a national player of the year since 1987-88 and a national coach of the year since 1989-90. In 2002-03, the USBWA initiated an award for the nation's top freshman. For more information about the USBWA and its annual awards, contact Executive Director Joe Mitch in the Missouri Valley Conference office at 314-421-0339.

Related link:
All-Time USBWA women's honors