United States Basketball Writers Association March 12, 2008
For Immediate Release
Contact: Joe Mitch
6-10 forward has double-doubles in 26 of 30 games

ST. LOUIS (USBWA) Kansas State sensation Michael Beasley has been selected as the men's National Freshman of the Year by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association.


Beasley was selected in voting by USBWA members in eight of the association's nine geographical districts. The lone district that did not select Beasley as the nation's top freshman chose UCLA's Kevin Love instead.

A 6-10 forward from Washington, D.C., Beasley was earlier this week named player and freshman of the year in the Big 12 Conference. Beasley leads the nation in rebounding with a 12.5 average and is third in scoring with a 26.5 mark. He recorded a double-double in 26 of 30 games and scored 40 points or more three times and 30 or more points 13 times this season.

The USBWA began presenting a National Freshman of the Year in the 1988-89 season, when LSU's Chris Jackson was named the first winner of the award. Kevin Durant of Texas was the winner a year ago, when he was also the winner of the USBWA's Oscar Robertson Trophy, presented to the National Player of the Year.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. Today, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. For more information on the USBWA and its awards, contact executive director Joe Mitch at 314-421-0339.

All-Time USBWA Freshmen of the Year:
1988-89 Chris Jackson, LSU
1989-90 Kenny Anderson, Georgia Tech
1990-91 Rodney Rogers, Wake Forest
1991-92 Chris Webber, Michigan
1992-93 Jason Kidd, California
1993-94 Joe Smith, Maryland
1994-95 None selected
1995-96 None selected
1996-97 None selected
1997-98 Larry Hughes, Saint Louis
1998-99 Quentin Richardson, DePaul
1999-00 Jason Gardner, Arizona
2000-01 Eddie Griffin, Seton Hall
2001-02 T.J. Ford, Texas
2002-03 Carmelo Anthony, Syracuse
2003-04 Luol Deng, Duke
2004-05 Marvin Williams, North Carolina
2005-06 Tyler Hansbrough, North Carolina
2006-07 Kevin Durant, Texas
2007-08 Michael Beasley, Kansas State