March 25, 2009
For Immediate Release
Contact: Joe Mitch
All-Conference USA guard a unanimous choice Bookmark and Share

ST. LOUIS (USBWA) Memphis guard Tyreke Evans has been selected Freshman of the Year by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association for the 2008-09 season.


The 6-6 Evans, from Chester, Pa., established himself nationally this season as the only freshman among the finalists for the USBWA's Oscar Robertson Player of the Year Award.

Evans was a unanimous choice in voting by USBWA members in all nine of the association's geographical districts for Freshman of the Year.

He was named to Conference USA's all-conference first team after leading nationally-ranked Memphis in scoring this season with a 16.9 per game average and in steals with 65. The Tigers are 33-3, riding a 27-game winning streak heading in to an NCAA West Regional Semifinal vs. Missouri on Thursday.

The USBWA began presenting a National Freshman of the Year in the 1988-89 season, when LSU's Chris Jackson was named the first winner of the award. Michael Beasley of Kansas State was the winner a year ago.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. Today, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. For more information on the USBWA and its awards, contact executive director Joe Mitch at 314-421-0339.

All-Time USBWA Freshmen of the Year:
1988-89 Chris Jackson, LSU
1989-90 Kenny Anderson, Georgia Tech
1990-91 Rodney Rogers, Wake Forest
1991-92 Chris Webber, Michigan
1992-93 Jason Kidd, California
1993-94 Joe Smith, Maryland
1994-95 None selected
1995-96 None selected
1996-97 None selected
1997-98 Larry Hughes, Saint Louis
1998-99 Quentin Richardson, DePaul
1999-00 Jason Gardner, Arizona
2000-01 Eddie Griffin, Seton Hall
2001-02 T.J. Ford, Texas
2002-03 Carmelo Anthony, Syracuse
2003-04 Luol Deng, Duke
2004-05 Marvin Williams, North Carolina
2005-06 Tyler Hansbrough, North Carolina
2006-07 Kevin Durant, Texas
2007-08 Michael Beasley, Kansas State
2008-09 Tyreke Evans, Memphis