March 31, 2015
For Immediate Release
Contact: Joe Mitch
Three UConn players lead annual team
Bookmark and Share  

ST. LOUIS (USBWA) The Connecticut Huskies, the nation's top-ranked team, dominate the 2014-15 U.S. Basketball Writers Association Women's All-America Team, as selected by the entire association membership. The 10-woman team features two back-to-back honorees.

For the second straight season, the Huskies placed three players on the team Moriah Jefferson, Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis and Breanna Stewart marking just the third time that has happened. Stewart is the reigning Ann Meyers Drysdale Award winner as the USBWA's National Player of the Year. Tennessee had three USBWA All-Americans in the 1998-99 season (Tamika Catchings, Chamique Holdsclaw and Semeka Randall). UConn will battle with three other No. 1 seeds at the NCAA Final Four the weekend in Tampa, Fla.

Stewart and Notre Dame's Jewell Loyd are the two players who were selected to the team last season, while Mosqueda-Lewis was a member of the team two years ago. Loyd, who has led the Fighting Irish to the Final Four, and Duke's Elizabeth Williams have each previously won the USBWA's National Freshman of the Year Award.

Nina Davis gives Baylor a USBWA All-America selection for the fifth straight season. Samantha Logic is the first Iowa All-American since the 1987-88 season, the first year the USBWA named a women's All-America team. Ohio State's Kelsey Mitchell is the first freshman to be named All-America since 2008. She was a two-time USBWA National Freshman of the Week this season.  Tiffany Mitchell of Final Four-bound South Caroline is the first Gamecock player to earn the USBWA's honor. Amanda Zahui B. is the first Minnesota player in ten years to earn a spot on the team.

The USBWA Women's All-America Team is the nation's best ten players, regardless of position, as selected by the USBWA membership based on regular-season performance. These ten standouts are finalists for the USBWA's Ann Meyers Drysdale Award as the national player of the year, which will be announced Sunday at Amalie Arena in Tampa, Fla., prior to the start of the NCAA Women's Final Four.

Following is the complete 2014-15 USBWA Women's All-America Team:

Player, School Pos. Ht. Cl. Hometown
Nina Davis, Baylor F 5-11 So. Memphis, Tenn.
Moriah Jefferson, Connecticut G 5-7 Jr. Glenn Heights, Texas
Samantha Logic, Iowa G 5-9 Jr. Racine, Wis.
Jewell Loyd, Notre Dame G 5-10 Jr. Lincolnwood, Ill.
Kelsey Mitchell, Ohio State G 5-8 Fr. Cincinnati, Ohio
Tiffany Mitchell, South Carolina G 5-9 Jr. Charlotte, N.C.
Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis, Connecticut F 5-11 Sr. Anaheim Hills, Calif.
Breanna Stewart, Connecticut F 6-4 Jr. North Syracuse, N.Y.
Elizabeth Williams, Duke C/F 6-3 Sr. Virginia Beach, Va.
Amanda Zahiu B., Minnesota C 6-5 So. Stockholm, Sweden
By conference: American Athletic (3); Big Ten (3); ACC (2); Big 12 (1) SEC (1).
By class: Seniors (2); Juniors (5); Sophomores (2); Freshmen (1).

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association, formed in 1956, has named a women's All-America team since the 1996-97 season. The association has also named a national player of the year now known as the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award since 1987-88 and a national coach of the year since 1989-90. In 2002-03, the USBWA initiated an award for the nation's top freshman. For more information on the USBWA and awards, contact executive director Joe Mitch at 314-795-6821.

Related link:
All-time USBWA women's honors