April 3, 2016
For Immediate Release
Contact: Joe Mitch
UConn's Stewart headlines annual team
Bookmark and Share  

INDIANAPOLIS (USBWA) – Breanna Stewart of the University of Connecticut joined a select group with her third selection to headline the 10-member USBWA Women's All-America Team for 2016, which was officially announced here Sunday at the NCAA Women's Final Four.

Stewart, a 6-1 senior forward, joined two other former UConn greats in Svetlana Abrosimova and Maya Moore as three-time All-Americans with Moore going on to become the only four-time selectee in the 29-year history of the USBWA All-American women's squads.

Tennessee's trio of Chamique Holdsclaw, Tamika Catchings and Candace Parker were also three-time recipients as were Duke's Alana Beard, Oklahoma's Courtney Paris, and Baylor's Brittney Griner to bring the overall total to nine through this season.

Stewart, a native of North Syracuse, N.Y., who led the unbeaten Huskies to here at Bankers Life Fieldhouse with three straight previous NCAA titles in her Huskies career and going for an unprecedented fourth, was the only unanimous selectee being named on all 71 ballots from the USBWA membership who cast votes for the women's postseason honors.

She is also among five standouts who repeated from the 2015 squad, including UConn 5-7 senior guard Moriah Jefferson, South Carolina 5-9 senior guard Tiffany Mitchell, Baylor 5-11 junior forward Nina Davis, and Ohio State 5-8 sophomore guard Kelsey Mitchell, who was the USBWA Freshman of the Year in 2015.

South Carolina 6-5 sophomore A'ja Wilson gives the Gamecocks two members on this year's squad to go with two from UConn.

The newcomers are Notre Dame 6-3 sophomore forward Brianna Turner, Minnesota 5-9 redshirt senior guard Rachel Banham, Washington 5-8 junior guard Kelsey Plum, who led the Huskies of the Northwest to their first Women's Final Four here; and Maryland 5-11 junior guard Shatori Walker-Kimbrough.

By class, the 2016 USBWA Women's All-Americans consists of four seniors, three juniors, and three sophomores with six of them being guards and the other four forwards. The Big Ten led the picks in conference representation with three.

Nina Davis, a native of Memphis, Tenn., led Baylor's fourth-ranked Bears with a 16.3 scoring average and a 6.1 rebounding mark to top her teammates.

Plum is third in the nation in scoring with a 26.2 average and first in total points with 943. She also leads the country in free throws made (260) and attempted (293).

Turner's 88 blocked shots are fifth on the Notre Dame all-time list and she joins former USBWA All-American Ruth Riley as the only two players in school history with multiple 80-block seasons for the Irish.

Banham finished sixth on the NCAA's all-time scoring list with 3,093 points records for both the Big Ten and Minnesota and holds the Gophers season records for career points at 914 and in a game with 60 this season.

Kelsey Mitchell has set Ohio State single season scoring records in each of the last two years with 889 points this time and 873 in 2014-15. She made 126 three-pointers, which was tied for first nationally when the Buckeyes were eliminated last weekend in the Sweet 16 by Tennessee.

Following is the complete 2015-16 USBWA Women's All-America Team:

Player, School Pos. Ht. Cl. Hometown
Rachel Banham, Minnesota G 5-9 Sr. Lakeville, Minn.
Nina Davis, Baylor F 5-11 Jr. Memphis, Tenn.
Moriah Jefferson, Connecticut G 5-7 Sr. Glenn Heights, Texas
Kelsey Mitchell, Ohio State G 5-8 So. Cincinnati, Ohio
Tiffany Mitchell, South Carolina G 5-9 Sr. Charlotte, N.C.
Kelsey Plum, Washington G 5-8 Jr. Poway, Calif.
Breanna Stewart, Connecticut F 6-4 Sr. North Syracuse, N.Y.
Brianna Turner, Notre Dame F 6-3 So. Pearland, Texas
Shatori Walker-Kimbrough, Maryland G 5-11 Jr. Aliquippa, Pa.
A'ja Wilson, South Carolina F 6-5 So. Hopkins, S.C.
By conference: Big Ten (3); American Athletic (2); SEC (2); ACC (1); Big 12 (1); Pac-12 (1).
By class: Seniors (4); Juniors (3); Sophomores (3).

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association, formed in 1956, has named a women's All-America team since the 1996-97 season. The association has also named a national player of the year now known as the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award since 1987-88 and a national coach of the year since 1989-90. In 2002-03, the USBWA initiated an award for the nation's top freshman. For more information on the USBWA and its awards, contact executive director Joe Mitch at 314-795-6821.

Related link:
USBWA Women's All-America Team