Jan. 22, 2018
For Immediate Release
Contact: Joe Mitch
Oscar Robertson Trophy, Henry Iba Award to be presented at Final Four
Bookmark and Share  

ST. LOUIS (USBWA) – The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has announced the midseason watch list for the Oscar Robertson Trophy, to be presented to college basketball's national player of the year. Four Big East players, led by Villanova teammates Jalen Brunson and Mikal Bridges, headline the list of 14 standouts that includes six seniors.

Balloting for the USBWA's All-America Team, All-District Teams and the association's individual awards will take place in March. The Oscar Robertson Trophy will be presented at a news conference on Friday, March 30, at the Final Four in San Antonio. The Henry Iba Coach of the Year will be presented at the association's awards breakfast the following Monday.

Here is the midseason watch list:

Pos. First Team Ht. Wt. Yr. Hometown
F DeAndre Ayton, Arizona 7-1 250 Fr. Nassau, Bahamas
F Marvin Bagley III, Duke 6-11 234 Fr. Phoenix, Ariz.
F Keita Bates-Diop, Ohio State 6-7 235 Jr. Normal, Ill.
G Trevon Bluiett, Xavier 6-6 198 Sr. Indianapolis, Ind.
G/F Mikal Bridges, Villanova 6-7 210 Jr. Malvern, Pa.
G/F Miles Bridges, Michigan State 6-7 225 So. Flint, Mich.
G Jalen Brunson, Villanova 6-3 190 Jr. Lincolnshore, Ill.
G Jevon Carter, West Virginia 6-7 205 Sr. Maywood, Ill.
F Mike Daum, South Dakota State 6-9 250 Jr. Kimball, Neb.
C Angel Delgado, Seton Hall 6-10 245 Sr. Bajos de Haina, D.R.
G Devonté Graham, Kansas 6-2 185 Sr. Raleigh, N.C.
G Tra Holder, Arizona State 6-1 180 Sr. Los Angeles, Calif.
C Jock Landale, Saint Mary’s 6-11 255 Sr. Malvern East, Australia
G Trae Young, Oklahoma 6-2 180 Fr. Norman, Okla.
By conference: Big East 4, Big 12 3, Big Ten 2, Pac-12 2, ACC 1, Summit 1, West Coast 1.
By class: Seniors 6, Juniors 4, Sophomores 1, Freshmen 3.

Since the 1958-59 season, the USBWA has named a National Player of the Year. In 1998, the award was named in honor of the University of Cincinnati Hall of Famer and two-time USBWA Player of the Year Oscar Robertson. It is the nation's oldest award and the only one named after a former player.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. With some 1,000 members worldwide, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season. For more information on the USBWA and its award programs, contact executive director Joe Mitch at 314-795-6821.

Related links:
Oscar Robertson Trophy