April 26, 2007
For Immediate Release
Contact: Bo Carter
50 standouts selected for consideration of college baseball's top honor

Dick Howser TrophyDALLAS (NCBWA) The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association, working in conjunction with the St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce, has released the watch list of 50 candidates for the Dick Howser Trophy, given to the top player in collegiate baseball.

The membership of the NCBWA will choose the Dick Howser Trophy based on three rounds of voting. The 2007 winner will be announced at the College World Series in Omaha on Friday, June 15, at 10:00 a.m. CDT.

The Dick Howser Trophy, given in memory of the former Florida State University All-America shortstop and major league player and manager who died of brain cancer in 1987, is regarded by many as college baseball's most prestigious award.

Criteria for consideration for the trophy include performance on the field, leadership, moral character and courage, qualities that were exemplified by Dick Howser's life.

1B Dustin Ackley, North Carolina P Corey Kluber, Stetson
P Adrian Alaniz, Texas OF Kellen Kulbacki, James Madison
3B Pedro Alvarez, Vanderbilt 1B Matt LaPorta, Florida
P Travis Banwart, Wichita State 2B Tyler Mach, Oklahoma State
C Mitch Canham, Oregon State P Brian Matusz, San Diego
C Sean Coughlin, Kentucky RP Eryk McConnell, N.C. State
SS Brandon Crawford, UCLA P Adam Mills, Charlotte
RP Kevin Crum, VMI P Sean Morgan, Tulane
OF Mike Dahm, Old Dominion OF Matt Morris, UC Irvine
OF Maurice Davis, Alcorn State P David Price, Vanderbilt
P Andy DeLaGarza, Coastal Carolina OF Kyle Russell, Texas
OF Grant Desme, Cal Poly UT Joe Savery, Rice
SS Walter Diaz, USF P Nick Schmidt, Arkansas
P/1B/DH Sean Doolittle, Virginia 3B Greg Sexton, William & Mary
C Edward Easley, Mississippi State UT Matt Spencer, Arizona State
RP Daniel Edwards, Kansas State 3B Blake Stouffer, Texas A&M
P Barry Enright, Pepperdine UT Damon Sublett, Wichita State
P Caleb Grafenhein, P, East Tennessee State 3B Bradley Suttle, Texas
OF Brandon Guyer, Virginia 2B Tony Thomas Jr., Florida State
RP Nick Haggadone, Washington P Jacob Thompson, Virginia
P Bryan Henry, Florida State SS Brandon Turner, Mississippi State
1B Steven Hill, Stephen F. Austin DH Bobby Verbick, Sam Houston State
P Harris Honeycutt, South Carolina 1B Brett Wallace, Arizona State
OF Justin Jenkins, West Virginia OF Robbie Widlansky, Florida Atlantic
2B Logan Johnson, Louisville C Matt Wieters, Georgia Tech

A Florida native, Howser was a two-time All-America shortstop at Florida State University (1957-58), then coached the Seminoles in 1979 after a career as a major league player and coach. After one year in the college ranks, Howser returned to the majors to manage the New York Yankees and Kansas City Royals and won the World Series with the Royals in 1985. The baseball stadium on the Florida State campus is named for Howser.

The winner's name is inscribed on the permanent trophy, a bronze bust of Howser permanently displayed at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg, home of the Tampa Bay Devil Rays. Both the winner and his school receive a special trophy to keep.

The St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce is in its 108th year of existence in 2007. The organization has long been a vital force in the baseball affairs of the city, both in spring training and during the pursuit of a major league baseball franchise for the Tampa Bay area, and continues its solid role in the 21st Century.

NCBWA membership includes writers, broadcasters and publicists. Designed to promote and publicize college baseball, it is the sport's only college media-related organization, founded in 1962.

The Howser Trophy was created in 1987, shortly after Howser's death. Previous winners of the Howser Trophy are Mike Fiore, Miami, 1987; Robin Ventura, Oklahoma State, 1988; Scott Bryant, Texas, 1989; Alex Fernandez, Miami-Dade Community College South, 1990; Frank Rodriguez, Howard College (Texas), 1991; Brooks Kieschnick, Texas, 1992 and 1993; Jason Varitek, Georgia Tech, 1994; Todd Helton, Tennessee, 1995; Kris Benson, Clemson, 1996; J. D. Drew, Florida State, 1997; Eddy Furniss, LSU, 1998; Jason Jennings, P, Baylor, 1999; Mark Teixeira, 1B, Georgia Tech, 2000; Mark Prior, P, USC, 2001, Khalil Greene, SS, Clemson, 2002; Rickey Weeks, 2B, Southern U., 2003; Jered Weaver, P, Long Beach State, 2004; Alex Gordon, 3B, Nebraska, 2005; and Brad Lincoln, P, Houston, 2006.

2007 Dick Howser Trophy:
April 26: Dick Howser Trophy watch list
May 17: Dick Howser Trophy semifinalists
June 7: Dick Howser Trophy finalists
June 15: Dick Howser Trophy presented in Omaha

Related links:
Official site (dickhowsertrophy.com)
More on David Price (from vucommodores.com)