May 17, 2007
For Immediate Release
Contact: Mike Carey
16 standouts selected for consideration of college baseball's top honor

Dick Howser TrophyDALLAS (NCBWA) The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association, working in conjunction with the St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce, has released the list of 16 semifinalists for the 2007 Dick Howser Trophy, given to the top player in collegiate baseball.

The membership of the NCBWA will choose the Dick Howser Trophy based on three rounds of voting. The 2007 winner will be announced just prior to the first game of the College World Series, with a press conference slated for Friday, June 15, at 10 a.m. (CDT) at the Omaha Press Club.

The 16 candidates hail from eight different conferences, with top-ranked Vanderbilt, No. 4 Florida State and No. 8 Virginia being the only schools to produce multiple semifinalists. The list includes six pitchers, eight position players and two utility players.

1B Dustin Ackley, North Carolina Adam Mills, P, Charlotte
3B Pedro Alvarez, Vanderbilt P David Price, Vanderbilt
P/1B/DH Sean Doolittle, Virginia OF Kyle Russell, Texas
P Barry Enright, Pepperdine P/1B Joe Savery, Rice
P Brian Henry, Florida State 3B Blake Stouffer, Texas A&M
OF Kellen Kulbacki, James Madison 2B Tony Thomas Jr., Florida State
1B Matt LaPorta, Florida P Jacob Thompson, Virginia
P Brian Matusz, San Diego~ 1B Brett Wallace, Arizona State

The Dick Howser Trophy, given in memory of the former Florida State University All-America shortstop and major league player and manager who died of brain cancer in 1987, is regarded by many as college baseball's most prestigious award.

Criteria for consideration for the trophy include performance on the field, leadership, moral character and courage, qualities that were exemplified by Dick Howser's life.

A Florida native, Howser was twice an All-America shortstop at Florida State University (1957-58), then coached the Seminoles in 1979 after a career as a major league player and coach. After one year in the college ranks, Howser returned to the majors to manage the New York Yankees and Kansas City Royals and won the World Series with the Royals in 1985. The baseball stadium on the Florida State campus is named for Howser.

The winner's name is inscribed on the permanent trophy, a bronze bust of Howser displayed at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg - home of the Tampa Bay Devil Rays and the 1999 NCAA Men's Basketball Final Four along with several other locations. Both the winner and his school receive a special trophy to keep.

The St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce is in its 108th year of existence in 2007. The organization has long been a vital force in the baseball affairs of the city, both in spring training and during the pursuit of a major league baseball franchise for the Tampa Bay-St. Petersburg area and continues its solid role in the 21st century.

NCBWA membership includes writers, broadcasters and publicists. Designed to promote and publicize college baseball, it is the sport's only college media-related organization, founded in 1962.

The Howser Trophy was created in 1987, shortly after Howser's death. Previous winners of the Howser Trophy are Mike Fiore, Miami, 1987; Robin Ventura, Oklahoma State, 1988; Scott Bryant, Texas, 1989; Alex Fernandez, Miami-Dade Community College South, 1990; Frank Rodriguez, Howard College (Texas), 1991; Brooks Kieschnick, Texas, 1992 and 1993; Jason Varitek, Georgia Tech, 1994; Todd Helton, Tennessee, 1995; Kris Benson, Clemson, 1996; J. D. Drew, Florida State, 1997; Eddy Furniss, LSU, 1998; Jason Jennings, P, Baylor, 1999; Mark Teixeira, 1B, Georgia Tech, 2000; Mark Prior, P, USC, 2001, Khalil Greene, SS, Clemson, 2002; Rickey Weeks, 2B, Southern U., 2003; Jered Weaver, P, Long Beach State, 2004; Alex Gordon, 3B, Nebraska, 2005; and Brad Lincoln, P, Houston, 2006.

2007 Dick Howser Trophy:
April 26: Dick Howser Trophy watch list
May 17: Dick Howser Trophy semifinalists
June 7: Dick Howser Trophy finalists
June 15: Dick Howser Trophy presented in Omaha

Related links:
Official site (
More on David Price (from