May 15, 2008
For Immediate Release
Contact: Bo Carter
16 standouts selected for consideration of college baseball's top honor

Dick Howser TrophyDALLAS (NCBWA) The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association, working in conjunction with the St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce, has released the list of 16 semifinalists for the 2007 Dick Howser Trophy, given to the top player in collegiate baseball.

The membership of the NCBWA will choose the Dick Howser Trophy based on three rounds of voting. The 2007 winner will be announced just prior to the first game of the College World Series, with a press conference slated for Saturday, June 14, at 10 a.m. (CDT) at the Greater Omaha Chamber of Commerce.

The 16 candidates hail from nine different conferences, with the SEC producing four and the Pac-10 listing three. Arizona State and Kentucky are the only schools with multiple semifinalists. Eight different positions are represented on the list, including five pitchers, three outfielders and two first basemen.

SS Gordon Beckham, Georgia P Shooter Hunt, Tulane
P George Brown, St. John's P Brian Matusz, San Diego
OF Sawyer Carroll, Kentucky C Buster Posey, Florida State
1B David Cooper, California OF Chris Shehan, Georgia Southern
OF Collin Cowgill, Kentucky 1B Justin Smoak, South Carolina
P Aaron Crow, Missouri P Stephen Strasburg, San Diego State
UT Ike Davis, Arizona State 3B Brett Wallace, Arizona State
P Johnny Dorn, Nebraska 2B Jemile Weeks Miami

The Dick Howser Trophy, given in memory of the former Florida State University All-America shortstop and major league player and manager who died of brain cancer in 1987, is regarded by many as college baseball's most prestigious award.

Criteria for consideration for the trophy include performance on the field, leadership, moral character and courage, qualities that were exemplified by Dick Howser's life.

A Florida native, Howser was twice an All-America shortstop at Florida State University (1957-58), then coached the Seminoles in 1979 after a career as a major league player and coach. After one year in the college ranks, Howser returned to the majors to manage the New York Yankees and Kansas City Royals and won the World Series with the Royals in 1985. The baseball stadium on the Florida State campus is named for Howser.

The winner's name is inscribed on the permanent trophy, a bronze bust of Howser displayed at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg - home of the Tampa Bay Devil Rays and the 1999 NCAA Men's Basketball Final Four along with several other locations. Both the winner and his school receive a special trophy to keep.

The St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce is in its 109th year of existence in 2008. The organization has long been a vital force in the baseball affairs of the city, both in spring training and during the pursuit of a major league baseball franchise for the Tampa Bay-St. Petersburg area and continues its solid role in the 21st century.

NCBWA membership includes writers, broadcasters and publicists. Designed to promote and publicize college baseball, it is the sport's only college media-related organization, founded in 1962.

The Howser Trophy was created in 1987, shortly after Howser's death. Previous winners of the Howser Trophy are Mike Fiore, Miami, 1987; Robin Ventura, Oklahoma State, 1988; Scott Bryant, Texas, 1989; Alex Fernandez, Miami-Dade Community College South, 1990; Frank Rodriguez, Howard College (Texas), 1991; Brooks Kieschnick, Texas, 1992 and 1993; Jason Varitek, Georgia Tech, 1994; Todd Helton, Tennessee, 1995; Kris Benson, Clemson, 1996; J. D. Drew, Florida State, 1997; Eddy Furniss, LSU, 1998; Jason Jennings, P, Baylor, 1999; Mark Teixeira, 1B, Georgia Tech, 2000; Mark Prior, P, USC, 2001, Khalil Greene, SS, Clemson, 2002; Rickey Weeks, 2B, Southern U., 2003; Jered Weaver, P, Long Beach State, 2004; Alex Gordon, 3B, Nebraska, 2005; Brad Lincoln, P, Houston, 2006; and David Price, P. Vanderbilt.

2008 Dick Howser Trophy:
April 24: Dick Howser Trophy watch list
May 15: Dick Howser Trophy semifinalists
June 5: Dick Howser Trophy finalists
June 14: Dick Howser Trophy presented in Omaha

Related links:
More on the Dick Howser Trophy
Official site (