May 17, 2018
For Immediate Release
Contact: Bo Carter
35 standouts up for college baseball's top honor
Bookmark and Share

Dick Howser TrophyDALLAS (NCBWA) – The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association has released the list of semifinalists for the 2018 Dick Howser Trophy presented by The Game Headwear. The award, given to the top player in collegiate baseball, is based on two rounds of national voting.

This is the 32nd year of the Dick Howser Trophy. The finalists will be announced on Friday, June 8. The 2018 award will be presented at TD Ameritrade Stadium in downtown Omaha, the home of the College World Series for the seventh year. The winner will be unveiled on MLB Network on Friday, June 15 and then a press conference with the winner will be held on Saturday, June 16 at 10 a.m. (CDT), the opening day of the 2018 CWS.

The candidates hail from 11 different conferences and 25 different schools. The Southeastern Conference leads the way with nine semifinalists, followed by the Pac-12 with eight, Atlantic Coast and Big 12 with four, Ohio Valley with three, American Athletic with two and Atlantic Sun, Conference USA, Missouri Valley and Northeast Conference with one each. Every position on the diamond but utility is represented, including seven outfielders, six starting pitchers, five first basemen, three catchers, second basemen and shortstops and two relief pitchers and designated hitters.

Joey Bart, C, Georgia Tech Trevor Larnach, OF, Oregon State
Seth Beer, OF, Clemson Grant Little, OF, Texas Tech
Alec Bohm, 3B, Wichita State Jack Little, RP, Stanford
Brian Brown, SP, N.C. State Nick Madirgral, 2B, Oregon State
Michael Byrne, RP, Florida Casey Mize, SP, Auburn
Chase Chambers, 1B, Tennessee Tech Bryant Packard, OF, East Carolina
Kody Clemens, 2B, Texas Adley Rutschman, C, Oregon State
Chase Cockrell, DH, Ole Miss Nick Sandlin, SP, Southern Miss
Kole Cottam, 1B, Kentucky Braden Schwemake, SS, Texas A&M
Greg Cullen, SS, Niagara Brady Singer, SP, Florida
Will Dalton, OF, Florida Bren Spillane, 1B, Illinois
Logan Gilbert, SP, Stetson Kevin Strohschein, DH, Tennessee Tech
Devlin Grandberg, OF, Dallas Baptist Chase Strumpf, 2B, UCLA
Luke Heimlich, SP, Oregon State Spencer Torkerlson, 1B, Arizona State
Luke Heyer, 3B, Kentucky Andrew Vaughn, 1B, California
Alex Holderbach, C, Eastern Kentucky Steele Walker, OF, Oklahoma
Jonathan India, 3B, Florida Will Wilson, SS, N.C. State
Josh Jung, 3B, Texas Tech  

The Dick Howser Trophy, given in memory of the former Florida State University All-America shortstop and major league player and manager, who died of brain cancer in 1987, is regarded by many as college baseball's most prestigious award. Criteria for consideration of the trophy include performance on the field, leadership, moral character and courage, qualities that were exemplified by Dick Howser's life.

A Florida native, Howser was twice an All-America shortstop at Florida State (1957-58), then coached the Seminoles in 1979, after a career as a major league player and coach. After one year in the college ranks, Howser returned to the majors to manage the New York Yankees and Kansas City Royals and won the World Series with the Royals in 1985. The baseball stadium on the Florida State campus is named for Howser.

"The Dick Howser Trophy was founded shortly after his death by a few friends of Dick's in the St. Petersburg Area who played, coached and worked with him," said David Feaster, chairman of the Howser Trophy Committee. "All knew him personally and were aware of him as a tremendous player, coach and friend. The award was initially awarded at the Governors Baseball Dinner held each spring in St. Petersburg to welcome Spring Training to Florida and as time progressed, we moved the presentation to Omaha, the center of college baseball, during the World Series. I have been involved with the award for more than 25 years and have loved every minute of my involvement. I have had the opportunity to meet some great college players as well as some great young men. I am so proud of the character quality we have in our award, which makes it unique. I am also proud of our selection process by the NCBWA which is the most democratic of any award and provides a true national scope.

"The Dick Howser trophy is 32 years old and growing stronger," added Feaster. "It is a true testimony to Dick Howser's ability as a player, coach and gentlemen. I am proud to be associated with it."

The winner's name is inscribed on the permanent trophy, a bronze bust of Howser displayed at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg - home of the Tampa Bay Rays. Both the winner and his school receive a special trophy to keep.

NCBWA membership includes writers, broadcasters and publicists. Designed to promote and publicize college baseball, it is the sport's only college media-related organization, founded in 1962.

The Howser Trophy was created in 1987, shortly after Howser's death. Previous winners of the Howser Trophy are Mike Fiore, Miami, 1987; Robin Ventura, Oklahoma State, 1988; Scott Bryant, Texas, 1989; Alex Fernandez, Miami-Dade Community College South, 1990; Frank Rodriguez, Howard College (Texas), 1991; Brooks Kieschnick, Texas, 1992 and 1993; Jason Varitek, Georgia Tech, 1994; Todd Helton, Tennessee, 1995; Kris Benson, Clemson, 1996; J. D. Drew, Florida State, 1997; Eddy Furniss, LSU, 1998; Jason Jennings, Baylor, 1999; Mark Teixeira, Georgia Tech, 2000; Mark Prior, P, USC, 2001, Khalil Greene, SS, Clemson, 2002; Rickey Weeks, 2B, Southern U., 2003; Jered Weaver, P, Long Beach State, 2004; Alex Gordon, 3B, Nebraska, 2005; Brad Lincoln, P/DH, Houston, 2006; David Price, P, Vanderbilt, 2007; Buster Posey, C, Florida State, 2008; Stephen Strasburg, P, San Diego State, 2009; Anthony Rendon, 3B, Rice, 2010; Taylor Jungmann, P, Texas, 2011; Mike Zunino, C, Florida, 2012; Kris Bryant, 3B, San Diego, 2013; A.J. Reed, P/1B, Kentucky, 2014; Andrew Benintendi, OF, Arkansas, 2015; Seth Beer, OF, Clemson, 2016 and Brendan McKay, P/1B, Louisville.

2018 Dick Howser Trophy:
Thu., May 17: Dick Howser Trophy semifinalists announced
Thu., June 7: Dick Howser Trophy finalists announced
Sat., June 16: Dick Howser Trophy presented at College World Series

Related links:
More on the Dick Howser Trophy