March 14, 2011
For Immediate Release
Contact: Joe Mitch
.pdf version
Association selects 55th annual team
Bookmark and Share  

ST. LOUIS (USBWA) Ten standout players representing seven conferences have been selected to the 2010-11 U.S. Basketball Writers Association All-America Team. A trio of seniors BYU guard Jimmer Fredette, Purdue forward/center JaJuan Johnson and Duke guard Nolan Smith headline the first-team selections. Joining those three are Connecticut junior guard Kemba Walker and Ohio State freshman forward Jared Sullinger.

The second team consists of Morehead State forward/center Kenneth Faried, Texas guard/forward Jordan Hamilton, Notre Dame guard Ben Hansbrough, Kansas forward Marcus Morris and Arizona forward Derrick Williams.

The Big East, Big Ten and Big 12 each boast a pair of All-Americans and, although Duke, Kansas, Notre Dame and Ohio State have players on the team for a second consecutive season, each of the ten players honored this season by the USBWA is a All-America selection for the first time. Other conferences represented on the All-America team are the ACC, Mountain West, Ohio Valley and Pac-10. Hansbrough is the brother of three-time USBWA All-American and 2008 Oscar Robertson Trophy winner Tyler Hansbrough.

Each of the first-team selections is among the Oscar Robertson Trophy finalists. The USBWA's National Player of the Year Award will be announced Monday, March 28 and presented on Friday, April 1 at the 2011 USBWA College Basketball Awards Breakfast at the George R. Brown Convention Center in Houston.

On Tuesday, the USBWA will announce the winner of the Wayman Tisdale Award to be presented to the national freshman of the year. Next Monday, March 21, the association will announce the winner of its Henry Iba Award to be presented to the national coach of the year.

Following is the complete 2010-11 USBWA All-America team:

First Team Pos. Ht. Wt. Cl. Hometown
Jimmer Fredette, BYU G 6-2 195 Sr. Glens Falls, N.Y.
JaJuan Johnson, Purdue F/C 6-10 221 Sr. Indianapolis, Ind.
Nolan Smith, Duke G 6-2 185 Sr. Upper Marlboro, Md.
Jared Sullinger, Ohio State F 6-9 280 Fr. Columbus, Ohio
Kemba Walker, Connecticut G 6-1 172 Jr. Bronx, N.Y.
Second Team Pos. Ht. Wt. Cl. Hometown
Kenneth Faried, Morehead State F/C 6-8 228 Sr. Newark, N.J.
Jordan Hamilton, Texas G/F 6-7 220 So. Compton, Calif.
Ben Hansbrough, Notre Dame G 6-3 203 Sr. Poplar Bluff, Mo.
Marcus Morris, Kansas F 6-9 235 Jr. Philadelphia, Pa.
Derrick Williams, Arizona F 6-8 241 So. La Mirada, Calif.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. Today, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season. For more information on the USBWA and its All-America team, contact executive director Joe Mitch at 314-444-4325.

Related links:
2010-11 USBWA All-District teams
All-time USBWA All-America teams