Dec. 14, 2010
For Immediate Release
Contact: Joe Mitch
Senior guard thrives in hometown, averages 29.5 ppg
Bookmark and Share  

ST. LOUIS (USBWA) The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has selected BYU guard Jimmer Fredette as its Oscar Robertson National Player of the Week for games ending the week of Sunday, Dec. 12. The USBWA's weekly honor is presented by Blue Ribbon College Basketball Yearbook and will be handed out each Tuesday through Feb. 22 this season.


As the Mountain West Conference Player of the Week, Fredette was nominated for the weekly award, which was chosen by a representative of the USBWA board of directors from a list of Division I conference players of the week.

Fredette, a 6-2 senior from Glens Falls, N.Y., led the Cougars to a 2-0 record in a pair of neutral-site games last week. In an 86-58 win over Vermont in his hometown of Glens Falls, he posted a game-high 26 points, five assists and one steal. He had lost the 2007 state Class A title game in the same gym, making only 3-of-24 shots, but this time satisfied the standing room-only crowd that included Boston Celtics GM Danny Ainge, BYU's all-time leading scorer.

He followed that performance with a season-best and game-high 33 points in an 87-65 victory over Arizona in Salt Lake City. He added a career-high nine rebounds, three assists and one steal, while going 11-of-22 from the field, including 3-of-6 from 3-point range, and 8-of-9 from the free throw line. For the week, Fredette averaged 29.5 points, 4.5 rebounds and 4.0 assists. Last season, Fredette earned the same honor with a 49-point effort vs. Arizona in the Fiesta Bowl Classic.

This is the second season that the USBWA has selected a national player of the week. The weekly Oscar Robertson National Player of the Week is added to the Oscar Robertson Trophy watch list, which will be released at mid-season.

Since the 1958-59 season, the USBWA has named a National Player of the Year. In 1998, the award was named in honor of the University of Cincinnati Hall of Famer and two-time USBWA Player of the Year Oscar Robertson. It is the nation's oldest award and the only one named after a former player.

Oscar Robertson TrophyAt the conclusion of the regular season, the USBWA will name finalists for the award, which is voted on by the entire membership of the USBWA. The winner of the 2011 Oscar Robertson Trophy will be announced and presented by its namesake, Oscar Robertson, at the USBWA's annual awards breakfast on Fri., April 1 in Houston, site of the 2011 NCAA Men's Final Four.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. With some 900 members worldwide, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season. For more information on the USBWA and the Oscar Robertson Trophy, contact executive director Joe Mitch at 314-444-4300.

Blue Ribbon College Basketball Yearbook, the most comprehensive college basketball publication in the world, returns for its 30th season, bigger and better in 2010-11. Blue Ribbon long-known as "The Bible of College Basketball" gives its readers the most thorough, up-to-date and timely evaluations of every Division I team in the country. For more information about Blue Ribbon Yearbooks, visit

2010-11 Oscar Robertson National Players of the Week
Week of Dec. 5: Mike Glover, Iona
Week of Dec. 12: Jimmer Fredette, BYU
Week of Dec. 19: Khris Middleton, Texas A&M
Week of Dec. 26: Doron Lamb, Kentucky
Week of Jan. 2: Demetri McCamey, Illinois
Week of Jan. 9: Vlad Moldoveanu, American
Week of Jan. 16: Mike Muscala, Bucknell
Week of Jan. 23: Jordan Hamilton, Texas
Week of Jan. 30: Kenneth Faried, Morehead State
Week of Feb. 6: Chandler Parsons, Florida
Week of Feb. 13: Nolan Smith, Duke
Week of Feb. 20: Jacob Pullen, Kansas State