Jan. 15, 2013
For Immediate Release
Contact: Joe Mitch
Senior center leads Lady Bears to wins over ranked foes
Bookmark and Share  

ST. LOUIS (USBWA) – The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has selected Baylor center Brittney Griner as its Ann Meyers Drysdale Women's National Player of the Week for games ending the week of Sunday, Jan. 13. The USBWA's weekly honor will be handed out each Tuesday through Feb. 19 this season.


As the Big 12 Conference Player of the Week, Griner was nominated for the weekly award, which was chosen by a representative of the USBWA board of directors from a list of Division I conference players of the week.

Griner, a 6-8 center from Houston, Texas, who is the reigning Ann Meyers Drysdale Women’s National Player of the Year, averaged 28.0 points per game, 5.5 rebounds and 3.0 blocks as the defending NCAA champion and top-ranked Lady Bears beat two ranked conference opponents. She collected 23 points in the win over then No. 25 Iowa State and then scored 33 against then No. 17 Kansas.

Her start against Kansas was her 127th breaking the previous mark of 126 set by Sophia Young, who is now with the WNBA's San Antonio Silver Stars.

Since the 1987-88 season, the USBWA has named a National Player of the Year. At the Women's NCAA Final Four in Denver last April, the organization announced going forward that the national and weekly player award has been named for Hall of Famer and former UCLA All-American Ann Meyers Drysdale. At the conclusion of the regular season, the USBWA will name finalists for the award, which is voted on by the entire membership of the USBWA. The winner of the 2013 Ann Meyers Drysdale National Player of the Year will be announced and presented at the USBWA's annual awards breakfast in New Orleans, site of the 2013 NCAA Women's Final Four.

Several other women's awards are also to be announced later this season associated with more famous names in women's basketball history. At last season's Women's Final Four it was also announced that former Tennessee coach Pat Summitt, who was the female recipient of the Most Courageous Award for her battle against early onset dementia, Alzheimer type, would have that award named in her honor.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. With some 900 members worldwide, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected a women's All-America team since the 1996-97 season. For more information on the USBWA and its award programs, contact executive director Joe Mitch at 314-795-6821.

2012-13 Ann Meyers Drysdale National Players of the Week
• Week of Dec. 9: Maggie Lucas, Penn State (Big Ten Conference)
• Week of Dec. 16: Chucky Jeffery, Colorado (Pac-12 Conference)
• Week of Dec. 23: Kelsey Bone, Texas A&M (Southeastern Conference)
• Week of Dec. 30: Karisma Penn, Illinois (Big Ten Conference)
• Week of Jan. 6: Kayla McBride, Notre Dame (Big East Conference)
• Week of Jan. 13: Brittney Griner, Baylor (Big 12 Conference)
• Week of Jan. 20: Stefanie Dolson, Connecticut (Big East Conference)
• Week of Jan. 27: Chiney Ogwumike, Stanford (Pac-12 Conference)
• Week of Feb. 3: Khaalidah Miller, Georgia (Southeastern Conference)
• Week of Feb. 10: Kelia Shelton, Louisiana Tech (Western Athletic Conference)
• Week of Feb. 17: Keiera Ray, Pennsylvania (Ivy League)