Feb. 14, 2017
For Immediate Release
Contact: Mel Greenberg
Guard/forward leads Texas past Baylor
Bookmark and Share  

ST. LOUIS (USBWA) – The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has selected guard/forward Joyner Holmes of Texas as its Women's National Freshman of the Week for games ending the week of Sunday, Feb. 12. The USBWA's weekly honor will be handed out each Tuesday through mid-February.

As the Big 12 Conference freshman of the week, Holmes earned consideration as a nominee for the weekly award, which was chosen by Mel Greenberg, the USBWA coordinator for women’s basketball, from a list of Division I conference freshmen of the week.

Holmes, a 6-3 guard/forward from Cedar Hill, Texas, averaged 16.5 points and 11.5 points, and shot 54.5 percent from the field. In the Texas upset of Baylor that snapped a 14-game losing streak in the series and 54-game Baylor home win streak, Holmes had 18 points and 10 rebounds. In the final minute, she scored the go-ahead basket, then grabbed a key rebound and sank a pair of foul shots to send the win in the Longhorns' direction.

Since the 2003-04 season, the USBWA has named a Women's National Freshman of the Year. This is the third season USBWA has honored a national freshman of the week. At the 2012 NCAA Women’s Final Four in Denver, the organization announced going forward that the national and weekly player award has been named for Hall of Famer and former UCLA All-American Ann Meyers Drysdale and another famous name in women’s basketball is being deliberated for the freshman award. At the conclusion of the regular season, the freshman winner will be voted on by the entire membership of the USBWA. The winner of the 2017 Women’s National Freshman of the Year will be announced and presented at the USBWA’s annual awards event in Dallas, site of the 2017 NCAA Women’s Final Four.

Several other women’s awards may also be announced later this season associated with more famous names in women’s basketball history. Also in 2012 in Denver, it was also announced there that former Tennessee coach Pat Summitt, who was the female recipient of the Most Courageous Award for her battle against early onset dementia, Alzheimer type, would have that award named in her honor. Coach Summitt ultimately succumbed to that battle this past June.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. With some 900 members worldwide, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected a women's All-America team since the 1996-97 season. For more information on the USBWA and its award programs, contact executive director Joe Mitch at 314-795-6821.

2016-17 Women's National Freshmen of the Week
Week ending Dec. 11: Tori McCoy, Ohio State (Big Ten Conference)
Week ending Dec. 18: Ana Ferariu, Drexel (Colonial Athletic Association)
Week ending Dec. 25: Stella Johnson, Rider (Metro Atlantic Athletic Association)
Week ending Jan. 1: Nancy Mulkey, Oklahoma (Big 12 Conference)
Week ending Jan. 8: Chanelle Molina, Washington State (Pac-12 Conference)
Week ending Jan. 15: Justine Gaziano, Brown (Ivy League)
Week ending Jan. 22: Mary Gedaka, Villanova (Big East Conference)
Week ending Jan. 29: Kysre Gondrezick, Michigan (Big Ten Conference)
Week ending Feb. 5: Bella Alarie, Princeton (Ivy League)
Week ending Feb. 12: Joyner Holmes, Texas (Big 12 Conference)
Week ending Feb. 19: Minyon Moore, USC (Pac-12 Conference)