Football Writers Association of America BERT McGRANE AWARD
The Football Writers Association of America Hall of Fame

The Bert McGrane Award is presented to an FWAA member in recognition of contributions to the FWAA and college football. McGrane was a sportswriter and editor at the Des Moines Register for 45 years and served as the FWAA's Executive Director from the early 1940s until 1973. This is the FWAA's highest honor and equivalent to an association's Hall of Fame.

1974 Charley Johnson, Minneapolis Star
1975 Wilfrid Smith, Chicago Tribune
1976 Paul Zimmerman, Los Angeles Times
1977 Dick Cullum, Minneapolis Tribune
1978 Wilbur Evans, Cotton Bowl Athletic Association
1979 Tom Siler, Knoxville News-Sentinel
1980 Maury White, Des Moines Register
1981 Fred Russell, Nashville Banner
1982 Furman Bisher, Atlanta Journal
1983 John Mooney, Salt Lake Tribune
1984 Si Burick, Dayton News
1985 Blackie Sherrod, The Dallas Morning News
1986 Raymond Johnson, Nashville Tennessean
1987 Tim Cohane, Look Magazine
1988 Dave Campbell, Waco Tribune Herald
1989 Jim Brock, Cotton Bowl Athletic Association
1990 Jack Hairston, Gainesville Sun
1991 Murray Olderman, Newspaper Enterprise Assoc.
1992 Volney Meece, The Daily Oklahoman
1993 Bob Hentzen, Topeka Capital Journal
1994 Edgar Allen, Nashville Journal
1995 Dick Herbert, Raleigh News & Observer
1996 Bob Hammel, Bloomington (Ind.) Herald-Times
1997 Bill Lumpkin, Birmingham Post-Herald
1998 Don Bryant, University of Nebraska
1999 Field Scovell, Cotton Bowl Athletic Association
2000 Jimmie McDowell, All-American Football Foundation
2001 Edwin Pope, Miami Herald
2002 Orville Henry, Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
2003 Dan Foster, Greenville News
2004 Pat Harmon, Cincinnati Post
2005 Steve Richardson, K.C. Star, The Dallas Morning News
2006 John Junker, Tostitos Fiesta Bowl
2007 Mark Blaudschun, Boston Globe
2008 Claude Felton, University of Georgia
2009 Tony Barnhart, Atlanta Journal-Constitution
2010 Tom Mickle, Florida Citrus Sports
2011 Beano Cook, University of Pittsburgh/ESPN
2012 Dave Sittler, Tulsa World
2013 Dick Weiss, New York Daily News
2014 Tim Tessalone, University of Southern California
2015 Steve Hatchell, National Football Foundation
2016 Ivan Maisel,
2017 Charlie Fiss, Cotton Bowl Athletic Association
2018 Steve Weiberg, USA TODAY
2019 Blair Kerkhoff, The Kansas City Star
2020 Wally Hall, Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
2021 John Heisler, University of Notre Dame, UCF