Feb. 9, 2010
For Immediate Release
Contact: Joe Mitch
Senior guard lifts Wildcats to a pair of road wins Bookmark and Share

ST. LOUIS (USBWA) The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has selected Kansas State guard Denis Clemente as its Oscar Robertson National Player of the Week for games ending the week of Sunday, Feb. 7. The USBWA's weekly honor is presented by Blue Ribbon College Basketball Yearbook and will be handed out each Tuesday through Feb. 23 this season.


As the Big 12 Conference Player of the Week, Clemente was nominated for the weekly award, which was chosen by a representative of the USBWA board of directors from a list of Division I conference players of the week.

Clemente, a 6-1 senior from Bayamon, Puerto Rico, is the second cousin of baseball Hall of Fame outfielder Roberto Clemente. He averaged 26.5 points and four assists in wins at Nebraska and Iowa State.

In a 76-57 win at Nebraska he scored 23 points, then followed that up with 30 points in a 79-75 win at Iowa State. For the week, he hit 64.7 percent of three-point attempts (11-for-17) and was a perfect 16-for-16 from the free-throw line and 16-for-32 from the field, while averaging in 36 minutes in the two games.

Clemente has helped propel the Wildcats to their highest ranking since 1973, 9th in Monday's Associated Press poll.

This is the first season that the USBWA has selected a national player of the week. The weekly Oscar Robertson National Player of the Week is added to the Oscar Robertson Trophy watch list, which will be released at mid-season.

Since the 1958-59 season, the USBWA has named a National Player of the Year. In 1998, the award was named in honor of the University of Cincinnati Hall of Famer and two-time USBWA Player of the Year Oscar Robertson. It is the nation's oldest award and the only one named after a former player.

Oscar Robertson TrophyAt the conclusion of the regular season, the USBWA will name finalists for the award, which is voted on by the entire membership of the USBWA. The winner of the 2010 Oscar Robertson Trophy will be announced and presented by its namesake, Oscar Robertson, at the USBWA's annual awards breakfast on Fri., April 2 in Indianapolis, site of the 2010 NCAA Men's Final Four.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. With some 900 members worldwide, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season. For more information on the USBWA and the Oscar Robertson Trophy, contact executive director Joe Mitch at 314-421-0339.

Blue Ribbon College Basketball Yearbook, the most comprehensive college basketball publication in the world, returns for its 29th season, bigger and better in 2009-10. Blue Ribbon long-known as "The Bible of College Basketball" gives its readers the most thorough, up-to-date and timely evaluations of every Division I team in the country. For more information about Blue Ribbon Yearbooks, visit blueribbonyearbookonline.com.

2009-10 Oscar Robertson National Players of the Week
Week of Dec. 13: Gordon Hayward, Butler
Week of Dec. 20: Jon Scheyer, Duke
Week of Dec. 27: Devin Ebanks, West Virginia
Week of Jan. 3: Jimmer Fredette, BYU
Week of Jan. 10: Luke Harangody, Notre Dame
Week of Jan. 17: Damion James, Texas
Week of Jan. 24: Adrian Oliver, San Jose State
Week of Jan. 31: Devan Downey, South Carolina
Week of Feb. 7: Denis Clemente, Kansas State
Week of Feb. 14: Jerome Randle, California