Dec. 18, 2018
For Immediate Release
Contact: Joe Mitch
Senior forward posts career high in dramatic win over Butler
Bookmark and Share  

ST. LOUIS (USBWA) The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has selected Indiana forward Juwan Morgan as its Oscar Robertson National Player of the Week for games ending the week of Sunday, Dec. 16. The USBWA's weekly honor is presented by Blue Ribbon College Basketball Yearbook.

As the Big Ten Conference Player of the Week, Morgan was nominated for the weekly award, which was chosen by a representative of the USBWA board of directors from a list of Division I conference players of the week. The USBWA has named Oscar Robertson National Players of the Week since the 2009-10 season.

The 6-8 senior forward from Waynesville, Mo., scored a career-high 35 points in the No. 25 Hoosiers' 71-68 comeback win over Butler in the Crossroads Classic, breaking his own Classic record set a year ago. Morgan connected on 12-of-14 field goals (85.7 percent), including 4-of-6 from 3-point range and 7-for-7 free throws, and added three rebounds, two blocked shots and two steals. His second steal with 3:50 left in the game led him to making two game-tying free throws, and he gave Indiana its first lead with a score on its next possession.

Morgan topped 1,000 career points during the game as well, becoming the 52nd player in Indiana history to eclipse the 1,000-point plateau. He now ranks 51st in career scoring with 1,020 points. Morgan is seventh in the Big Ten in scoring (17.3 pgg), second in three-point field goal percentage (48.1 percent), fifth in field goal percentage (67.2) and 10th in rebounds (7.6 rpg). He finished his three-game career at the Crossroads Classic second in total points scored (75) and points per game (25.0) among those who have competed in the eight-year event.

Since the 1958-59 season, the USBWA has named a National Player of the Year. In 1998, the award was named in honor of the University of Cincinnati Hall of Famer and two-time USBWA Player of the Year Oscar Robertson. It is the nation's oldest award and the only one named after a former player.

Oscar Robertson TrophyAt the conclusion of the regular season, the USBWA will name finalists for the award, which is voted on by the entire membership.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. With some 900 members worldwide, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season. For more information on the USBWA and the Oscar Robertson Trophy, contact executive director Joe Mitch at 314-795-6821.

Blue Ribbon College Basketball Yearbook, the most comprehensive college basketball publication in the world, returns for its 38th season. Blue Ribbon long-known as "The Bible of College Basketball" gives its readers the most thorough, up-to-date and timely evaluations of every Division I team in the country. For more information about Blue Ribbon Yearbooks, visit

2018-19 Oscar Robertson National Players of the Week
Week ending Dec. 2: Markus Howard, Marquette (Big East Conference)
Week ending Dec. 9: Admiral Schofield, Tennessee (Southeastern Conference)
Week ending Dec. 16: Juwan Morgan, Indiana (Big Ten Conference)
Week ending Dec. 23: Markus Howard, Marquette (Big East Conference)
Week ending Dec. 30: Justin Wright-Foreman, Hofstra (Colonial Athletic Association)
Week ending Jan. 6: Shamorie Ponds, St. John's (Big East Conference)
Week ending Jan. 13: Bruno Fernando, Maryland (Big Ten Conference)
Week ending Jan. 20: Ja Morant, Murray State (Ohio Valley Conference)
Week ending Jan. 27: Grant Williams, Tennessee (Southeastern Conference)
Week ending Feb. 3: Chris Clemons, Campbell (Big South Conference)
Week ending Feb. 10: Robert Franks, Washington State (Pac-12 Conference)
Week ending Feb. 17: PJ Washington, Kentucky (Southeastern Conference)
Week ending Feb. 24: Mike Daum, South Dakota State (Summit League)
Week ending March 3: Fletcher Magee, Wofford (Southern Conference)