Dec. 14, 2021
For Immediate Release
Contact: Malcolm Moran
Sophomore guard carries Wildcats to 9-0 start
Bookmark and Share  

INDIANAPOLIS (USBWA) The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has selected Arizona guard Bennedict Mathurin as its Oscar Robertson National Player of the Week for games ending the week of Sunday, Dec. 12.


As the Pac-12 Conference Player of the Week, Mathurin was nominated for the weekly award, which was chosen by a representative of the USBWA board of directors from a list of Division I conference players of the week. Once again, the USBWA will select a Division I men's National Player of the Week each Tuesday throughout the season. The USBWA has named Oscar Robertson National Players of the Week since the 2009-10 season.

Mathurin, a 6-6 sophomore guard from Montreal, Quebec, Canada, averaged 27.0 points on 61 percent shooting (20-33), 8.5 rebounds and 3.0 assists in two wins to help keep the Wildcats (9-0) unbeaten so far this season.

He recorded a 24-point, 10-rebound double-double and added five assists in a 94-65 rout of previously unbeaten Wyoming this past Wednesday and then followed it up with 30 points with five 3-pointers while shooting 10-of-17 from the field and seven rebounds in an 83-79 victory at Illinois on Saturday. His late free throws sealed the win. Mathurin's two-game performance earned him the Pac-12's Player of the Week honor for a second straight week to become the first Arizona player to earn the honor in back-to-back weeks since the 2005-06 season (Hassan Adams).

Since the 1958-59 season, the USBWA has named a National Player of the Year. In 1998, the award was named in honor of the University of Cincinnati Hall of Famer and two-time USBWA Player of the Year Oscar Robertson. It is the nation's oldest award and the only one named after a former player.

At the conclusion of the regular season, the USBWA will name finalists for the award, which is voted on by the entire membership.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. With some 900 members worldwide, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season. For more information on the USBWA and the Oscar Robertson Trophy, contact executive director Malcolm Moran at 814-574-1485.

2021-22 Oscar Robertson National Players of the Week
Week ending Dec. 12: Bennedict Mathurin, Arizona (Pac-12 Conference)
Week ending Dec. 19: Alondes Williams, Wake Forest (Atlantic Coast Conference)
Week ending Dec. 26: Oscar Tshiebwe, Kentucky (Southeastern Conference)
Week ending Jan. 2: Walker Kessler, Auburn (Southeastern Conference)
Week ending Jan. 9: Johnny Davis, Wisconsin (Big Ten Conference)
Week ending Jan. 16: Armando Bacot, North Carolina (Atlantic Coast Conference)
Week ending Jan. 23: Isiaih Mosley, Missouri State (Missouri Valley Conference)
Week ending Jan. 30: Bryce Hamilton, UNLV (Mountain West Conference)
Week ending Feb. 6: Hunter Maldonado, Wyoming (Mountain West Conference)
Week ending Feb. 13: KJ Williams, Murray State (Ohio Valley Conference)
Week ending Feb. 20: Julian Champagnie, St. John's (Big East Conference)
Week ending Feb. 27: KJ Williams, Murray State (Ohio Valley Conference)

All-time USBWA National Players of the Week (Since 2009-10)