Nov. 26, 2019
For Immediate Release
Contact: Malcolm Moran
Freshman center earns 2K Empire Classic MVP
Bookmark and Share  

INDIANAPOLIS (USBWA) The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has selected Duke center Vernon Carey Jr. as its Oscar Robertson National Player of the Week for games ending the week of Sunday, Nov. 24.

Oscar Robertson TrophyAs the Atlantic Coast Conference Co-Player of the Week, Carey was nominated for the weekly award, which was chosen by a representative of the USBWA board of directors from a list of Division I conference players of the week. Once again, the USBWA will select a Division I men's National Player of the Week each Tuesday throughout the season. The USBWA has named Oscar Robertson National Players of the Week since the 2009-10 season.

Carey Jr., a 7-0 freshman center from Southwest Ranches, Fla., averaged 25.5 points and 11 rebounds in two games this past week. Carey extended his streak of double-doubles to four, including a 31-point, 12-rebound, 4-block effort against Cal, and was named the MVP of the 2K Empire Classic.

In the 87-52 win in the Empire Classic semifinals at Madison Square Garden on Thursday, Carey scored his 31 points in just 22 minutes, marking the fewest minutes played in a 30-point game in Duke history besting Shane Battier's 31 points in 24 minutes against Davidson on Dec. 21, 1999. In Friday's Empire Classic championship, Carey scored 20 points and added 10 rebounds as the Blue Devils held off Georgetown, 81-73. For the week, Carey was 19-of-32 from the field (.594).

Carey Jr. is the fifth Duke player to earn the USBWA's National Player of the Week honor, but the first since Mason Plumlee was honored after the week ending Feb. 10, 2013.

Since the 1958-59 season, the USBWA has named a National Player of the Year. In 1998, the award was named in honor of the University of Cincinnati Hall of Famer and two-time USBWA Player of the Year Oscar Robertson. It is the nation's oldest award and the only one named after a former player.

At the conclusion of the regular season, the USBWA will name finalists for the award, which is voted on by the entire membership.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. With some 900 members worldwide, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season. For more information on the USBWA and the Oscar Robertson Trophy, contact executive director Malcolm Moran at 814-574-1485.

2019-20 Oscar Robertson National Players of the Week
Week ending Nov. 17: Myles Powell, Seton Hall (Big East Conference)
Week ending Nov. 24: Vernon Carey Jr., Duke (Atlantic Coast Conference)
Week ending Dec. 1: Jon Teske, Michigan (Big Ten Conference)
Week ending Dec. 8: Luka Garza, Iowa (Big Ten Conference)
Week ending Dec. 15: Payton Pritchard, Oregon (Pac-12 Conference)
Week ending Dec. 22: Jhivvan Jackson, UTSA (Conference USA)
Week ending Dec. 29: Nick Richards, Kentucky (Southeastern Conference)
Week ending Jan. 5: Cassius Winston, Michigan State (Big Ten Conference)
Week ending Jan. 12: Jared Butler, Baylor (Big 12 Conference)
Week ending Jan. 19: Markus Howard, Marquette (Big East Conference)
Week ending Jan. 26: Chris Duarte, Oregon (Pac-12 Conference)
Week ending Feb. 2: Tommy Funk, Army West Point (Patriot League)
Week ending Feb. 9: Jalen Harris, Nevada (Mountain West Conference)
Week ending Feb. 16: Remy Martin, Arizona State (Pac-12 Conference)
Week ending Feb. 23: Marcus Zegarowski, Creighton (Big East Conference)
Week ending March 1: Taveion Hollingsworth, WKU (Conference USA)