Feb. 18, 2020
For Immediate Release
Contact: Malcolm Moran
Junior guard leads road sweep of Bay Area schools
Bookmark and Share  

INDIANAPOLIS (USBWA) – The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has selected Arizona State guard Remy Martin as its Oscar Robertson National Player of the Week for games ending the week of Sunday, Feb. 16.

Oscar Robertson TrophyAs the Pac-12 Conference Player of the Week, Martin was nominated for the weekly award, which was chosen by a representative of the USBWA board of directors from a list of Division I conference players of the week. Once again, the USBWA will select a Division I men's National Player of the Week each Tuesday throughout the season. The USBWA has named Oscar Robertson National Players of the Week since the 2009-10 season.

Martin, a 6-0 junior from Chatsworth, Calif., averaged 23.0 points on 67 percent shooting (16-24), including 5-of-6 behind the arc, and 3.5 assists as Arizona State swept the Bay Area schools. The road sweep was the first since Jan. 2010 for ASU and the first in the Pac-12 era.

On Thursday, Martin scored 24 points on 9-of-14 shooting in a 74-69 victory at Stanford. In the final 7:17 of the game, he scored 11 of those points. On Sunday, he scored 22 points on 7-of-10 shooting to go along with five assists in the 80-75 win at California. In the Sunday game, he scored 15 of his points in the final 11:08.

Martin is the third Pac-12 player to earn the USBWA's National Player of the Week honor this season and the second Arizona State player to be tabbed since the association began its player of the week program in the 2009-10 season. Shannon Evans II was the national player of the week for the week ending Dec. 10, 2017.

Since the 1958-59 season, the USBWA has named a National Player of the Year. In 1998, the award was named in honor of the University of Cincinnati Hall of Famer and two-time USBWA Player of the Year Oscar Robertson. It is the nation's oldest award and the only one named after a former player.

At the conclusion of the regular season, the USBWA will name finalists for the award, which is voted on by the entire membership.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. With some 900 members worldwide, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season. For more information on the USBWA and the Oscar Robertson Trophy, contact executive director Malcolm Moran at 814-574-1485.

2019-20 Oscar Robertson National Players of the Week
Week ending Nov. 17: Myles Powell, Seton Hall (Big East Conference)
Week ending Nov. 24: Vernon Carey Jr., Duke (Atlantic Coast Conference)
Week ending Dec. 1: Jon Teske, Michigan (Big Ten Conference)
Week ending Dec. 8: Luka Garza, Iowa (Big Ten Conference)
Week ending Dec. 15: Payton Pritchard, Oregon (Pac-12 Conference)
Week ending Dec. 22: Jhivvan Jackson, UTSA (Conference USA)
Week ending Dec. 29: Nick Richards, Kentucky (Southeastern Conference)
Week ending Jan. 5: Cassius Winston, Michigan State (Big Ten Conference)
Week ending Jan. 12: Jared Butler, Baylor (Big 12 Conference)
Week ending Jan. 19: Markus Howard, Marquette (Big East Conference)
Week ending Jan. 26: Chris Duarte, Oregon (Pac-12 Conference)
Week ending Feb. 2: Tommy Funk, Army West Point (Patriot League)
Week ending Feb. 9: Jalen Harris, Nevada (Mountain West Conference)
Week ending Feb. 16: Remy Martin, Arizona State (Pac-12 Conference)
Week ending Feb. 23: Marcus Zegarowski, Creighton (Big East Conference)
Week ending March 1: Taveion Hollingsworth, WKU (Conference USA)