Jan. 14, 2020
For Immediate Release
Contact: Malcolm Moran
Sophomore guard leads Bears to pair of big wins
Bookmark and Share  

INDIANAPOLIS (USBWA) – The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has selected Baylor guard Jared Butler as its Oscar Robertson National Player of the Week for games ending the week of Sunday, Jan. 12.

Oscar Robertson TrophyAs the Big 12 Conference Player of the Week, Butler was nominated for the weekly award, which was chosen by a representative of the USBWA board of directors from a list of Division I conference players of the week. Once again, the USBWA will select a Division I men's National Player of the Week each Tuesday throughout the season. The USBWA has named Oscar Robertson National Players of the Week since the 2009-10 season.

Butler, a 6-3 sophomore from Reserve, La., led the Bears to back-to-back road conference wins over ranked teams, including the program's first win at Kansas, also the first road win against a top 5 team in program history.

Last Saturday, Butler scored a game-high 22 points and played turnover-free with three assists and two steals in 32 minutes in the 67-55 win at then-No. 3 Kansas. He scored 10 straight points in a 2:25 span late in the second half, and the Bears led by double-digits for the final 8:54 of the game.

Four days earlier, Butler made consecutive buckets in the final four minutes in a 57-52 win at then-No. 22 Texas Tech, extending Baylor's lead to six points both times.

He helped the Baylor defense limit Texas Tech to its fewest points (52) in a home game in the four-year Chris Beard era and Kansas to its fewest points (55) in a home game in the 17-year Bill Self era. The two wins propelled Baylor to a No. 2 ranking in the AP poll.

Since the 1958-59 season, the USBWA has named a National Player of the Year. In 1998, the award was named in honor of the University of Cincinnati Hall of Famer and two-time USBWA Player of the Year Oscar Robertson. It is the nation's oldest award and the only one named after a former player.

At the conclusion of the regular season, the USBWA will name finalists for the award, which is voted on by the entire membership.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. With some 900 members worldwide, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season. For more information on the USBWA and the Oscar Robertson Trophy, contact executive director Malcolm Moran at 814-574-1485.

2019-20 Oscar Robertson National Players of the Week
Week ending Nov. 17: Myles Powell, Seton Hall (Big East Conference)
Week ending Nov. 24: Vernon Carey Jr., Duke (Atlantic Coast Conference)
Week ending Dec. 1: Jon Teske, Michigan (Big Ten Conference)
Week ending Dec. 8: Luka Garza, Iowa (Big Ten Conference)
Week ending Dec. 15: Payton Pritchard, Oregon (Pac-12 Conference)
Week ending Dec. 22: Jhivvan Jackson, UTSA (Conference USA)
Week ending Dec. 29: Nick Richards, Kentucky (Southeastern Conference)
Week ending Jan. 5: Cassius Winston, Michigan State (Big Ten Conference)
Week ending Jan. 12: Jared Butler, Baylor (Big 12 Conference)
Week ending Jan. 19: Markus Howard, Marquette (Big East Conference)
Week ending Jan. 26: Chris Duarte, Oregon (Pac-12 Conference)
Week ending Feb. 2: Tommy Funk, Army West Point (Patriot League)
Week ending Feb. 9: Jalen Harris, Nevada (Mountain West Conference)
Week ending Feb. 16: Remy Martin, Arizona State (Pac-12 Conference)
Week ending Feb. 23: Marcus Zegarowski, Creighton (Big East Conference)
Week ending March 1: Taveion Hollingsworth, WKU (Conference USA)