Dec. 6, 2016
For Immediate Release
Contact: Jeff Bernstein
Association continues to honor Div. III standouts
Bookmark and Share  

ST. LOUIS (USBWA) – Sam Amsbaugh of Simpson College (Indianola, Iowa) and Sara Tarbert of Stevenson University (Owings Mills, Md.) were named the U.S. Basketball Writers Association Division III National Players of the Week for the week ending December 4.

Amsbaugh, a 6-5 junior forward from Sheffield, Iowa, averaged 33 points, nine rebounds and two assists per game as Simpson (5-2) posted a 2-1 week. In an 82-66 win over Saint Mary’s (Minn.) on Monday, Amsbaugh scored 40 points (14-of-18 FG, 3-of-4 3FG) and totaled 11 rebounds. In a 112-104 loss to Grinnell on Tuesday, he posted another double-double with 38 points (16-of-25 FG) and 12 rebounds, while adding three assists and a steal. In the Storm’s 81-68 victory over previously-undefeated Wartburg on Saturday, Amsbaugh totaled 21 points (7-of-9 FG, 2-of-3 3FG), four rebounds, three assists, and a steal. Currently ranked tenth in NCAA Division III in scoring (25.3 ppg), Amsbaugh was also selected the Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (IIAC) Player of the Week. 

Tarbert, a 6-1 senior forward from Delta, Pa., set the single-game scoring record for NCAA Division III so far this season with her 49-point performance against Widener on Saturday. In the Mustangs’ 87-78 win, she shot 21-of-30 from the field, 5-of-7 from the line and 2-of-4 from three-point range while adding 16 rebounds, three assists and five steals. In Stevenson’s (4-2) first game of the week on Wednesday vs. No. 20 ( Albright, Tarbert totaled 21 points (10-of-18 FG, 1-of-4 3FG), 13 rebounds, two assists, a steal, and two blocks in a 61-55 loss. For the week, she averaged 35.5 ppg, 14.5 rpg, 3.0 spg, 2.5 apg, and 1.0 bpg. The Division III national leader with six double-doubles this season, Tarbert was also named the Middle Atlantic Conference (MAC) Player of the Week.

Each Tuesday, the USBWA is selecting men's and women's Division III National Players of the Week. This is the third season that the USBWA will recognize national players of the week from Division III.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. With some 900 members worldwide, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season. For more information on the USBWA and its award programs, contact executive director Joe Mitch at 314-795-6821.

2016-17 USBWA Division III National Players of the Week
• Week ending Nov. 20: Khory Moore, Virginia Wesleyan College and Camille McPherson, Moravian College
• Week ending Nov. 27: Ty Sabin, Ripon College and Mikayla Miller, Gustavus Adolphus College
• Week ending Dec. 4: Sam Amsbaugh, Simpson College and Sara Tarbert, Stevenson University
• Week ending Dec. 11: Jayde Dawson, Amherst College and Zarkia Mattox, Ferrum College
• Week ending Dec. 18: Anthony Mosley Jr., Illinois Institute of Technology and Emily Martin, Elizabethtown College
• Week ending Jan. 1: Tyheim Monroe, Cabrini College and Lisa Murphy, Carnegie Mellon University
• Week ending Jan. 8: Frank Schettino, College of Staten Island and Kelly Williams, Randolph-Macon College
• Week ending Jan. 15: Baba Waples, Penn State Berks and Garis Grant, Agnes Scott College
• Week ending Jan. 22: Ty Sabin, Ripon College and Lisa Murphy, Carnegie Mellon University
• Week ending Jan. 29: Marcos Echevarria, Nichols College and Kara Hageman, Case Western Reserve University
• Week ending Feb. 5: Caleb Thomasson, Sul Ross State University and Kaitlin Langer, University of St. Thomas
• Week ending Feb. 12: Brendan Wind, Nazareth College and Savannah Olsen, Newbury College
• Week ending Feb. 19: Keegan Ryan, St. John Fisher College and Jill Valley, Westfield State University
• Week ending Feb. 26: Ty Sabin, Ripon College and Katie Sommer, Wartburg College