Jan. 4, 2017
For Immediate Release
Contact: Jeff Bernstein
Association continues to honor Div. III standouts
Bookmark and Share  

ST. LOUIS (USBWA) – Tyheim Monroe of Cabrini University (Radnor, Pa.) and Lisa Murphy of Carnegie Mellon University (Pittsburgh, Pa.) were named the U.S. Basketball Writers Association Division III National Players of the Week for the week ending January 1.

Monroe, a 6-6 junior forward from Philadelphia, Pa., averaged 22.3 points, 14.3 rebounds, 2.0 assists, 1.6 steals, 1.0 blocks, and posted three double-doubles as the Cavaliers (7-3) went 2-1. Against Division I Lehigh on December 22, Monroe scored 17 points and pulled down 14 rebounds in a 93-72 loss. He scored 26 points (including the 1,000th of his career) and totaled 12 rebounds in an 89-82 victory over Montclair State on December 30. The next day, Monroe finished with 24 points, 17 rebounds, three assists, two steals, two blocks, and captured MVP honors at the Roosevelt's 21st Greyhound Classic as Cabrini defeated host Moravian 90-74. Monroe, who was also selected the Colonial States Athletic Conference (CSAC) Player of the Week, has produced 37 consecutive double-doubles and has compiled 43 in his career, the second-highest total among all active players in Division III.

Murphy, a 6-1 senior center/forward from McLean, Va., averaged 33.6 points and 13.3 rebounds as No. 10 (D3hoops.com) Carnegie Mellon (11-0) won all three of its games. The NCAA leader (all Divisions) in field goal percentage (83.3 percent), Murphy shot 32-of-38 (84.2 percent) in the three games while also connecting on 30-of-36 (83.3 percent) of her free throws. In a 76-54 win over Capital on December 19, she totaled 34 points and 14 rebounds while connecting on 13-of-14 from the field and on all eight of her free throws. In the Tartans’ 72-55 victory over Muskingum on December 22, Murphy scored 31 points (9-of-10 FG, 13-of-16 FT) and collected 14 rebounds. She had 31 points (5-of-10 FG, 9-of-12 FT) and 12 rebounds as Carnegie defeated Penn State-Behrend 85-61 on December 30. Murphy, who was also named the University Athletic Association (UAA) Athlete of the Week, is now the Tartans’ all-time leader with 937 career rebounds.

Each Tuesday, the USBWA is selecting men's and women's Division III National Players of the Week. This is the third season that the USBWA will recognize national players of the week from Division III.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. With some 900 members worldwide, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season. For more information on the USBWA and its award programs, contact executive director Joe Mitch at 314-795-6821.

2016-17 USBWA Division III National Players of the Week
• Week ending Nov. 20: Khory Moore, Virginia Wesleyan College and Camille McPherson, Moravian College
• Week ending Nov. 27: Ty Sabin, Ripon College and Mikayla Miller, Gustavus Adolphus College
• Week ending Dec. 4: Sam Amsbaugh, Simpson College and Sara Tarbert, Stevenson University
• Week ending Dec. 11: Jayde Dawson, Amherst College and Zarkia Mattox, Ferrum College
• Week ending Dec. 18: Anthony Mosley Jr., Illinois Institute of Technology and Emily Martin, Elizabethtown College
• Week ending Jan. 1: Tyheim Monroe, Cabrini College and Lisa Murphy, Carnegie Mellon University
• Week ending Jan. 8: Frank Schettino, College of Staten Island and Kelly Williams, Randolph-Macon College
• Week ending Jan. 15: Baba Waples, Penn State Berks and Garis Grant, Agnes Scott College
• Week ending Jan. 22: Ty Sabin, Ripon College and Lisa Murphy, Carnegie Mellon University
• Week ending Jan. 29: Marcos Echevarria, Nichols College and Kara Hageman, Case Western Reserve University
• Week ending Feb. 5: Caleb Thomasson, Sul Ross State University and Kaitlin Langer, University of St. Thomas
• Week ending Feb. 12: Brendan Wind, Nazareth College and Savannah Olsen, Newbury College
• Week ending Feb. 19: Keegan Ryan, St. John Fisher College and Jill Valley, Westfield State University
• Week ending Feb. 26: Ty Sabin, Ripon College and Katie Sommer, Wartburg College