National Collegiate Baseball Writers July 20, 2001
For Immediate Release
Contact: Russ Anderson
Former USA Baseball Executive Director honored
DALLAS (NCBWA) Dick Case, retired Executive Director of USA Baseball, has been named as winner of the 2001 National Collegiate Baseball Writers Wilbur Snypp Award.

Case, a longtime executive with the national governing body for amateur baseball, promoted college baseball student-athletes for United States summer regional, national and international programs for three decades. He also was one of the ringleaders in the evolution of baseball into an Olympic sport and assisted in the transition of professional baseball stars (many of them from solid college programs) into the Olympics.

"Dick Case has been a tremendous friend to college and amateur baseball," said former NCBWA President Steve Weller, currently Assistant Director of Public Affairs at Texas-Arlington. "He has been a strong proponent of college student-athletes and maintaining the quality of college baseball on all levels. He helped many youngsters to gain quite a bit of national recognition.

He is the 27th recipient of the annual award, which is presented in memory of longtime Ohio State Sports Information Director and NCBWA founder, the late Wilbur (Bill) Snypp. Snypp was a noted contributor to the writers' organization, which was initiated in 1962 (and celebrating its 40th year in 2001), as well as an officer in the group.

The NCBWA/Wilbur Snypp Award yearly honors a professional for their contributions to the sport of collegiate baseball. Voting is done by a panel of previous winners, who include past NCAA World Series directors, College Sports Information Directors of America Hall of Fame members, decorated media members, and many others.

1975 Wilbur Snypp, Ohio State
1976 Bill Esposito, St. John's
1977 Phil Langan, Cornell
1978 John Geis, Southern Conference
1979 Hank Schomber, Georgia Southern
1980 Bob Culp, Western Michigan
1981 Lou Pavlovich Sr., Collegiate Baseball
1982 Tom Price, South Carolina
1983 Bob Bradley, Clemson
1984 Robert Williams, Omaha World-Herald
1985 Jerry Miles, NCAA
1986 Larry Keefe, Seton Hall
1987 Tom Rowen, San Jose Mercury-News
1988 Fred Gerardi, KESY Radio, Omaha
1989 Jim Wright, NCAA
1990 Steve Weller, SIU-Edwardsville
1991 Bill Little, Texas
1992 Kirk Bohls, Austin American-Statesman
1993 Bo Carter, Southwest Conference
1994 Lou Pavlovich Jr., Collegiate Baseball
1995 Steve Pivovar, Omaha World-Herald
1996 Gary Johnson, NCAA
1997 Dave Wohlhueter, Cornell
1998 Allen Simpson, Baseball America
1999 Alan Cannon, Texas A&M
2000 Jim Callis, Baseball America
2001 Dick Case, USA Baseball
2002 Russ Anderson, Conference USA
2003 John Manuel, Baseball America
2004 Dana Heiss Grodin, USA Today Sports Weekly
2005 Dennis Poppe, NCAA
2006 Mike Montoro, Southern Miss
2007 Barry Allen, Alabama
2008 Mike Patrick, ESPN
2009 Al Chase, Honolulu Star-Bulletin
2010 Lou Spry, NCAA
2011 Jeremy Mills, ESPN/
2012 Eric Olson, Omaha World Herald
2013 J.D. Hamilton, NCAA
2014 John Sullivan, Rice
2015 David Feaster, Dick Howser Trophy
2016 Ralph Zobell, BYU
2017 Aaron Fitt,