Dec. 8, 2008
For Immediate Release
Contact: Bo Carter
ESPN broadcaster given association's annual service honor

DALLAS (NCBWA)Mike Patrick, whose solid play-by-play expertise has delighted millions of college baseball fans on ESPN at the NCAA World Series and other venues, is the 34th recipient of the Wilbur Snypp Award, presented annually by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association for outstanding contributions to college baseball.

"To think that I would be recognized for doing something that I truly love, I am grateful beyond belief," Patrick said. "It is such an honor to be mentioned along with some of the outstanding professionals and media members that have worked hard and have dedicated themselves to the advancement of college baseball. I would like to thank the National Collegiate Baseball Writers' Association and the previous Wilbur Snypp Award recipients for selecting me for this prestigious award."

"Mike Patrick and college baseball are a tremendous combination," said NCBWA executive director Bo Carter. "His enthusiasm and broadcast skills have taken the NCAA World Series to another level, and he has been a great proponent of baseball, as well as all college sports, through the worldwide stage of ESPN and its family of networks."

"Mike has been a real pro and great advocate for the game of college baseball," said NCBWA assistant executive director Mike Montoro. "He is a superb broadcaster in dealing with the coaches, student-athletes and support personnel and brings great enthusiasm and aplomb to each broadcast – especially in the College World Series."

Patrick, noted for his trademark broadcast opening "It's great to have you with us," has worked dozens of NCAA World Series contests and most of the best two-of-three championship round games from Omaha. He has been a television sports director/anchor in the Jacksonville, Fla., and Washington, D.C., areas, along with numerous assignments in televised sports for ESPN and Jefferson-Pilot Sports.

A veteran of four decades in the broadcast business, he has handled assignments for baseball, college football, men’s and women’s basketball, and NFL national telecasts and playoffs. He has added to his nationwide following as three-year play-by-play man for ESPN College Football Primetime with Todd Blackledge and Holly Rowe. He serves as the animated voice for popular college baseball computer games NCAA Baseball MVP 06 and MVP 07. His association with the NCAA World Series dates back to 1995, and he also has ample experience in Atlantic Coast Conference regional broadcasts from the 1970s-2000s. He has provided coverage for Washington Redskins’ preseason games and also worked for WUSA-TV and SportsNet Mid-Atlantic.

The Clarksburg, W.Va., native is a graduate of George Washington University, Patrick lives in Virginia with his wife, Janet.

The ESPN legend joins an illustrious group of College Sports Information Directors of America Hall of Famers, noted national journalists and others in receiving the award. The plaque memorializes longtime Ohio State sports information director and NCBWA founder the late Wilbur (Bill) Snypp. Snypp was a noted contributor to the writers' organization, which was initiated in 1962 (and celebrating its 47th year in 2008), as well as an officer in the group. The NCBWA/Wilbur Snypp Award yearly honors a professional for contributions to the sport of collegiate baseball. Voting is done by a panel of previous winners, who include past NCAA World Series officials, SIDs, award-winning media members, and college athletics administrators.

1975 Wilbur Snypp, Ohio State
1976 Bill Esposito, St. John's
1977 Phil Langan, Cornell
1978 John Geis, Southern Conference
1979 Hank Schomber, Georgia Southern
1980 Bob Culp, Western Michigan
1981 Lou Pavlovich Sr., Collegiate Baseball
1982 Tom Price, South Carolina
1983 Bob Bradley, Clemson
1984 Robert Williams, Omaha World-Herald
1985 Jerry Miles, NCAA
1986 Larry Keefe, Seton Hall
1987 Tom Rowen, San Jose Mercury-News
1988 Fred Gerardi, KESY Radio, Omaha
1989 Jim Wright, NCAA
1990 Steve Weller, SIU-Edwardsville
1991 Bill Little, Texas
1992 Kirk Bohls, Austin American-Statesman
1993 Bo Carter, Southwest Conference
1994 Lou Pavlovich Jr., Collegiate Baseball
1995 Steve Pivovar, Omaha World-Herald
1996 Gary Johnson, NCAA
1997 Dave Wohlhueter, Cornell
1998 Allen Simpson, Baseball America
1999 Alan Cannon, Texas A&M
2000 Jim Callis, Baseball America
2001 Dick Case, USA Baseball
2002 Russ Anderson, Conference USA
2003 John Manuel, Baseball America
2004 Dana Heiss Grodin, USA Today Sports Weekly
2005 Dennis Poppe, NCAA
2006 Mike Montoro, Southern Miss
2007 Barry Allen, Alabama
2008 Mike Patrick, ESPN
2009 Al Chase, Honolulu Star-Bulletin
2010 Lou Spry, NCAA
2011 Jeremy Mills, ESPN/
2012 Eric Olson, Omaha World Herald
2013 J.D. Hamilton, NCAA
2014 John Sullivan, Rice
2015 David Feaster, Dick Howser Trophy
2016 Ralph Zobell, BYU
2017 Aaron Fitt,