National Collegiate Baseball Writers December 18, 2003
For Immediate Release
Contact: Bo Carter
Baseball America has its third winner since 1998

DALLAS (NCBWA) Because of his outstanding commitment to college baseball, John Manuel, one of the leading experts as a writer, radio commentator and television analyst, has been named as the winner of the 2003 National Collegiate Baseball Writers' Wilbur Snypp Award. He is the third recipient to be honored from Baseball America, following Jim Callis (2000) and Allen Simpson (1998).

"John is one of the most dedicated baseball writers, especially on the college beat, in America," said NCBWA Executive Director Bo Carter. "He has won many national awards, and this is just another he can add to a well-stocked trophy case. John has been a great friend and adviser to NCBWA for many years as well."

Manuel, 31, has worked at Baseball America in Durham, N.C., since 1996 and took over the college beat from former Wilbur Snypp winner Callis in the summer of 1997. He has covered each of the last six College World Series for Baseball America and has provided daily coverage of every game for the last five CWS on

He started writing his twice-weekly web column in April 1999. He also has done television work for ESPN, College Sports Television and Comcast Cable and this summer provided radio color commentary for Team USA's eight games in Durham. A North Carolina native and UNC alumnus, Manuel is married to Becky Kirkland and lives in Cary, N.C.

"I'm very humbled and honored to have won this award for doing a job I love," Manuel said. "College baseball is important to Baseball America magazine and, and I would not have been in position to be considered for the award if not for BA's commitment to the sport. That commitment is the main reason that three BA staffers have now won the Snypp, and we intend to maintain that commitment with the help of players and coaches who shape the sport. Thank you."

Manuel is the 29th recipient of the annual award, which is presented in memory of longtime Ohio State Sports Information Director and NCBWA founder, the late Wilbur (Bill) Snypp. Snypp was a noted contributor to the writers' organization, which was initiated in 1962 (and celebrating its 40th year in 2001), as well as an officer in the group.

The NCBWA/Wilbur Snypp Award yearly honors a professional for contributions to the sport of collegiate baseball. Voting is done by a panel of previous winners, who include past NCAA World Series directors, College Sports Information Directors of America Hall of Fame members, decorated media members, and others.

1975 Wilbur Snypp, Ohio State
1976 Bill Esposito, St. John's
1977 Phil Langan, Cornell
1978 John Geis, Southern Conference
1979 Hank Schomber, Georgia Southern
1980 Bob Culp, Western Michigan
1981 Lou Pavlovich Sr., Collegiate Baseball
1982 Tom Price, South Carolina
1983 Bob Bradley, Clemson
1984 Robert Williams, Omaha World-Herald
1985 Jerry Miles, NCAA
1986 Larry Keefe, Seton Hall
1987 Tom Rowen, San Jose Mercury-News
1988 Fred Gerardi, KESY Radio, Omaha
1989 Jim Wright, NCAA
1990 Steve Weller, SIU-Edwardsville
1991 Bill Little, Texas
1992 Kirk Bohls, Austin American-Statesman
1993 Bo Carter, Southwest Conference
1994 Lou Pavlovich Jr., Collegiate Baseball
1995 Steve Pivovar, Omaha World-Herald
1996 Gary Johnson, NCAA
1997 Dave Wohlhueter, Cornell
1998 Allen Simpson, Baseball America
1999 Alan Cannon, Texas A&M
2000 Jim Callis, Baseball America
2001 Dick Case, USA Baseball
2002 Russ Anderson, Conference USA
2003 John Manuel, Baseball America
2004 Dana Heiss Grodin, USA Today Sports Weekly
2005 Dennis Poppe, NCAA
2006 Mike Montoro, Southern Miss
2007 Barry Allen, Alabama
2008 Mike Patrick, ESPN
2009 Al Chase, Honolulu Star-Bulletin
2010 Lou Spry, NCAA
2011 Jeremy Mills, ESPN/
2012 Eric Olson, Omaha World Herald
2013 J.D. Hamilton, NCAA
2014 John Sullivan, Rice
2015 David Feaster, Dick Howser Trophy
2016 Ralph Zobell, BYU
2017 Aaron Fitt,