National Collegiate Baseball Writers Sept. 7, 2005
For Immediate Release
Contact: Bo Carter
NCAA veteran gets association's annual service honor

DALLAS (NCBWA) – Dennis Poppe, NCAA Managing Director for Football & Baseball, has been named the 2005 winner of the Wilbur Snypp Award, which is presented annually by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers of America for contributions to college baseball.


"Dennis Poppe is one of the classiest administrators in college athletics," said NCBWA Executive Director Bo Carter. "The work he has done to enhance the NCAA World Series, NCAA Regionals and Super Regionals and the overall good of college baseball has been exemplary. He deserves a great deal of thanks and appreciation from the NCBWA as well as the entire realm of college baseball."

Poppe, a 31-year member of the NCAA staff, is responsible for all issues related to the sports of football and baseball, including but not limited to the administration of the baseball and football championships and the coordination of playing rules with the respective rules committees. He also serves as staff liaison with the coaches associations, works with postseason football bowl licensing, monitors and coordinates legislative issues and addresses other issues that might impact either sport.

His baseball responsibilities include serving as the primary liaison to the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee and serving as the tournament director for the College World Series. In addition, he is the liaison to the NCAA Baseball Rules Committee, and the American Baseball Coaches Association.

"I am honored to be recognized by the National College Baseball Writers Association as the 2005 recipient of the Wilbur Snypp Award," said Poppe. "It is especially gratifying to be recognized by the members of the NCBWA, since this organization provides a great service for college baseball and the members have a passion for the sport.

"It has been my good fortune to have been involved with the NCAA Division I Baseball Championship since 1988, and I can truly state that it has been one of the most rewarding experiences that I’ve had during my career in college athletics."

Prior to joining the NCAA, Poppe served as a graduate assistant football coach and assistant director of athletics at the University of Missouri-Columbia. He was a three-year varsity football letter winner and played in the 1968 Gator Bowl and 1970 Orange Bowl. He was named to the 1969 All Big 8 football team as a defensive safety and the all-academic team. Poppe and his wife Donna are the parents of four children, Jon, Carl, Lisa and Ryan, and reside in Indianapolis.

Poppe is the 31st recipient of the annual award, which is presented in memory of longtime Ohio State Sports Information Director and NCBWA founder, the late Wilbur (Bill) Snypp. Snypp was a noted contributor to the writers' organization, which was initiated in 1962 (and celebrating its 43rd year in 2004), as well as an officer in the group. The NCBWA/Wilbur Snypp Award yearly honors a professional for contributions to the sport of collegiate baseball. Voting is done by a panel of previous winners, who include past NCAA World Series directors, College Sports Information Directors of America Hall of Fame members, decorated media members and others.

1975 Wilbur Snypp, Ohio State
1976 Bill Esposito, St. John's
1977 Phil Langan, Cornell
1978 John Geis, Southern Conference
1979 Hank Schomber, Georgia Southern
1980 Bob Culp, Western Michigan
1981 Lou Pavlovich Sr., Collegiate Baseball
1982 Tom Price, South Carolina
1983 Bob Bradley, Clemson
1984 Robert Williams, Omaha World-Herald
1985 Jerry Miles, NCAA
1986 Larry Keefe, Seton Hall
1987 Tom Rowen, San Jose Mercury-News
1988 Fred Gerardi, KESY Radio, Omaha
1989 Jim Wright, NCAA
1990 Steve Weller, SIU-Edwardsville
1991 Bill Little, Texas
1992 Kirk Bohls, Austin American-Statesman
1993 Bo Carter, Southwest Conference
1994 Lou Pavlovich Jr., Collegiate Baseball
1995 Steve Pivovar, Omaha World-Herald
1996 Gary Johnson, NCAA
1997 Dave Wohlhueter, Cornell
1998 Allen Simpson, Baseball America
1999 Alan Cannon, Texas A&M
2000 Jim Callis, Baseball America
2001 Dick Case, USA Baseball
2002 Russ Anderson, Conference USA
2003 John Manuel, Baseball America
2004 Dana Heiss Grodin, USA Today Sports Weekly
2005 Dennis Poppe, NCAA
2006 Mike Montoro, Southern Miss
2007 Barry Allen, Alabama
2008 Mike Patrick, ESPN
2009 Al Chase, Honolulu Star-Bulletin
2010 Lou Spry, NCAA
2011 Jeremy Mills, ESPN/
2012 Eric Olson, Omaha World Herald
2013 J.D. Hamilton, NCAA
2014 John Sullivan, Rice
2015 David Feaster, Dick Howser Trophy
2016 Ralph Zobell, BYU
2017 Aaron Fitt,