March 21, 2012
For Immediate Release
Contact: Bo Carter
Historian, stats guru nabs NCBWA honor

DALLAS (NCBWA) Jeremy Mills has been named the 37th recipient of the Wilbur Snypp Award, presented annually by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association for outstanding contributions to college baseball.

"I'm honored and humbled to receive the Wilbur Snypp Award," said Mills. "I would like to thank the NCBWA for selecting me for this prestigious award."

A dedicated promoter and historian of the game, Mills originated the nationally-renowned which is more commonly known today as He started the website in 2003 and ran it for the first three seasons before his wife Cynthia took over running the site full-time in 2006. The website is a one stop shop for everything related to college baseball providing scores, schedules, standings and links to national polls, summer leagues and historical information dating back to 2003.

Along with assisting his wife, Cynthia, in maintaining, Mills currently serves as a researcher for ESPN and is a contributor to's college baseball coverage. Mills joined ESPN in September of 2006 as a member of the Stats & Information team and on a daily basis he ensures that the scores and statistics reported by ESPN for all sports are correct. He has also been a researcher for ESPN's College World Series since 2008.

Mills put his knowledge of college baseball to good use as he assisted Rick Benner with the research content for the book College Baseball: Essential Facts about All Division I Teams which was published in 2006. The book is the definitive history of all major college programs (current and suspended) along with all the college alumni who made it to the Major Leagues.

"Jeremy Mills has been a stalwart in the baseball world of instant information, outstanding updates and national trends," said NCBWA Executive Director Bo Carter. "Along with his wife Cynthia, the Mills family has played a major role in increasing awareness of college baseball on a national scale. Jeremy is very deserving of this honor, as he has contributed several innovations to the coverage of baseball for many years."

A native of Rhode Island, Mills graduated from Rice University in 1997. He currently resides in Bristol, Conn., with his wife Cynthia.

Mills joins an illustrious group of College Sports Information Directors of America Hall of Famers, noted national journalists and others in receiving the award. The plaque memorializes longtime Ohio State sports information director and NCBWA founder, the late Wilbur (Bill) Snypp. Snypp was a noted contributor to the writers' organization, which was initiated in 1962, as well as an officer in the group. The NCBWA/Wilbur Snypp Award yearly honors a professional for contributions to the sport of college baseball. Voting is conducted by a panel of previous winners.

1975 Wilbur Snypp, Ohio State
1976 Bill Esposito, St. John's
1977 Phil Langan, Cornell
1978 John Geis, Southern Conference
1979 Hank Schomber, Georgia Southern
1980 Bob Culp, Western Michigan
1981 Lou Pavlovich Sr., Collegiate Baseball
1982 Tom Price, South Carolina
1983 Bob Bradley, Clemson
1984 Robert Williams, Omaha World-Herald
1985 Jerry Miles, NCAA
1986 Larry Keefe, Seton Hall
1987 Tom Rowen, San Jose Mercury-News
1988 Fred Gerardi, KESY Radio, Omaha
1989 Jim Wright, NCAA
1990 Steve Weller, SIU-Edwardsville
1991 Bill Little, Texas
1992 Kirk Bohls, Austin American-Statesman
1993 Bo Carter, Southwest Conference
1994 Lou Pavlovich Jr., Collegiate Baseball
1995 Steve Pivovar, Omaha World-Herald
1996 Gary Johnson, NCAA
1997 Dave Wohlhueter, Cornell
1998 Allen Simpson, Baseball America
1999 Alan Cannon, Texas A&M
2000 Jim Callis, Baseball America
2001 Dick Case, USA Baseball
2002 Russ Anderson, Conference USA
2003 John Manuel, Baseball America
2004 Dana Heiss Grodin, USA Today Sports Weekly
2005 Dennis Poppe, NCAA
2006 Mike Montoro, Southern Miss
2007 Barry Allen, Alabama
2008 Mike Patrick, ESPN
2009 Al Chase, Honolulu Star-Bulletin
2010 Lou Spry, NCAA
2011 Jeremy Mills, ESPN/
2012 Eric Olson, Omaha World Herald
2013 J.D. Hamilton, NCAA
2014 John Sullivan, Rice
2015 David Feaster, Dick Howser Trophy
2016 Ralph Zobell, BYU
2017 Aaron Fitt,