Nov. 18, 2010
For Immediate Release
Contact: Bo Carter
Former CWS official scorer nabs NCBWA honor

DALLAS (NCBWA)Lou Spry, who has served as the official scorer for the College World Series for more than 25 years, is the 36th recipient of the Wilbur Snypp Award, presented annually by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association for outstanding contributions to college baseball.

"I'm very pleased that the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association has recognized me and placed me in the company of so many good people in the business," Spry said. "I had high regard for Wilbur Snypp and worked with him for a few years at the College World Series. It's flattering to be considered for this honor, and it has been a pleasure to be associated with college baseball for so many years."

"Lou Spry actually had the opportunity to work with the Wilbur Snypp Award's namesake from Ohio State at the NCAA World Series and in other championship venues," said NCBWA executive director Bo Carter. "Lou has been such a wonderful friend and inspiration to college baseball for decades, and this honor is much deserved and long overdue."

“No one I know cares more about college baseball in general and the Men’s College World Series in particular,” said NCAA Director of Statistics Jim Wright. “From the early years when he was the primary NCAA administrator for the CWS in Omaha, to his many years as the event’s official scorer, Lou Spry, Omaha and college baseball will forever be connected. I’m proud to consider Lou a friend for over 35 years and very proud that he now is a fellow Wilbur Snypp winner.”

Lou has been in his role as official scorer of the College World Series since 1981 and has worked more than 600 games as media coordinator, primary administrator and scorer over 44 years.

Spry retired from the NCAA in April of 1999. He joined the staff in 1966 as the only publications editor. He later became director of research and director of publishing before being named assistant to the executive director in April 1971.

In March 1972, Spry was appointed assistant executive director for championships, and in May 1974 he was named controller. Spry retained the position of controller until 1988, when he was selected as an associate executive director and was responsible for the direction of the NCAA's financial affairs.

He also managed 21 annual and special NCAA conventions from 1981-99.

Spry also worked as the sports information director at West Texas A&M (then West Texas State) and was a longtime baseball umpire on several levels including college. He earned the 1977 Lefty Gomez Award for distinguished service to college baseball by the American Baseball Coaches Association and in 1984, he received the Dutch Fehring from the U.S. Baseball Federation. He was also named to the Amateur Baseball Umpires Association’s Hall of Fame in 2001.

The Nebraska native attended both Pacific Lutheran University and the University of Puget Sound. He and his wife Marilyn currently reside in Overland Park, Kan.

Spry joins an illustrious group of College Sports Information Directors of America Hall of Famers, noted national journalists and others in receiving the award. The plaque memorializes longtime Ohio State sports information director and NCBWA founder the late Wilbur (Bill) Snypp. Snypp was a noted contributor to the writers' organization, which was initiated in 1962 (and celebrating its 49th year in 2010), as well as an officer in the group. The NCBWA/Wilbur Snypp Award yearly honors a professional for contributions to the sport of collegiate baseball. Voting is done by a panel of previous winners, who include past NCAA World Series officials, SIDs, award-winning media members, and college athletics administrators.

1975 Wilbur Snypp, Ohio State
1976 Bill Esposito, St. John's
1977 Phil Langan, Cornell
1978 John Geis, Southern Conference
1979 Hank Schomber, Georgia Southern
1980 Bob Culp, Western Michigan
1981 Lou Pavlovich Sr., Collegiate Baseball
1982 Tom Price, South Carolina
1983 Bob Bradley, Clemson
1984 Robert Williams, Omaha World-Herald
1985 Jerry Miles, NCAA
1986 Larry Keefe, Seton Hall
1987 Tom Rowen, San Jose Mercury-News
1988 Fred Gerardi, KESY Radio, Omaha
1989 Jim Wright, NCAA
1990 Steve Weller, SIU-Edwardsville
1991 Bill Little, Texas
1992 Kirk Bohls, Austin American-Statesman
1993 Bo Carter, Southwest Conference
1994 Lou Pavlovich Jr., Collegiate Baseball
1995 Steve Pivovar, Omaha World-Herald
1996 Gary Johnson, NCAA
1997 Dave Wohlhueter, Cornell
1998 Allen Simpson, Baseball America
1999 Alan Cannon, Texas A&M
2000 Jim Callis, Baseball America
2001 Dick Case, USA Baseball
2002 Russ Anderson, Conference USA
2003 John Manuel, Baseball America
2004 Dana Heiss Grodin, USA Today Sports Weekly
2005 Dennis Poppe, NCAA
2006 Mike Montoro, Southern Miss
2007 Barry Allen, Alabama
2008 Mike Patrick, ESPN
2009 Al Chase, Honolulu Star-Bulletin
2010 Lou Spry, NCAA
2011 Jeremy Mills, ESPN/
2012 Eric Olson, Omaha World Herald
2013 J.D. Hamilton, NCAA
2014 John Sullivan, Rice
2015 David Feaster, Dick Howser Trophy
2016 Ralph Zobell, BYU
2017 Aaron Fitt,