Vol. 43, No. 3 • March 2006 • .pdf version
• Tony Barnhart: Year with gavel went too quickly
• Joe Mitch: Oscar Robertson Trophy finds a home in Indy
• Tom Shatel: Meet the NCAA's David Worlock
• Ted Gangi: Open Office: Can't beat the price
• Tennessee Tech's Sutton named Most Courageous
• Katha Quinn Award goes to Wayne Duke
• Marvin West to be inducted in Hall of Fame
• 2004-05 Best writing contest results

The man who authored the Basketball Writers Association's original constitution and was a key person in the formation of the USBWA 50 years ago has been selected by the USBWA board of directors to receive the Katha Quinn Award for service and contributions to the organization.

Wayne Duke, former Big Eight and Big Ten Conference commissioner who was an assistant to NCAA chief Walter Byers when the USBWA was founded in 1956, will be presented with this year's Katha Quinn Award at the USBWA's annual
awards breakfast on Monday, April 3, in Indianapolis during the 2006 NCAA Final Four.

As Byers' assistant, Duke was assigned the task to write the USBWA constitution and spearhead efforts to organize an  association of sports writers to promote college basketball.

Duke was voted into the USBWA's Hall of Fame as a charter member in 1988.

“With this being the 50th anniversary of the USBWA, there is no one more appropriate to receive this award than Wayne,” said past USBWA president Malcolm Moran, who created the idea to present the Katha Quinn Award in honor of the former St. John's University sports information director.

Katha was a beloved and nationally respected SID who lost a courageous battle with cancer in 1990.

Since naming the award for her following her death, the USBWA has honored a diverse group of individuals who like Katha
have either excelled at servicing the media or provide an inspiration to those in the sports journalism profession. Recent winners include Mike Tranghese of the Big East Conference, Mark Asher of the Washington Post, Jack Watkins of the Missouri Valley Conference, Jim Marchiony of the NCAA and Steve Kirschner of North Carolina.

February 2021
December 2020
June 2020
January 2020
November 2019
May 2019
March 2019
January 2019
November 2018
May 2018
March 2018
January 2018
November 2017
May 2017
March 2017
January 2017
November 2016
May 2016
March 2016
January 2016
November 2015
May 2015
March 2015
January 2015
November 2014
May 2014
March 2014
January 2014
November 2013
May 2013
March 2013
January 2013
November 2012
May 2012
March 2012
January 2012
November 2011
August 2011
May 2011
March 2011
February 2011
November 2010
May 2010
March 2010
February 2010
November 2009
May 2009
April 2009
February 2009
November 2008
May 2008
April 2008
February 2008
November 2007
May 2007
March 2007
February 2007
November 2006
May 2006
March 2006
January 2006
November 2005
May 2005 (.pdf)
March 2005 (.pdf)
January 2005 (.pdf)
November 2004 (.pdf)
May 2004 (.pdf)
March 2004 (.pdf)
January 2004 (.pdf)
November 2003 (.pdf)
May 2003 (.pdf)
March 2003 (.pdf)
January 2003 (.pdf)
November 2002 (.pdf)
January 2002 (.pdf)
November 2001 (.pdf)