Vol. 51, No. 2 January 2014 .pdf version
Kirk Wessler: Let officials explain themselves
Joe Mitch: SiriusXM, CBSSports.com are partners
Dana O'Neil: Patience will prevail over pontification
Ed Graney: As always, tough choices abound
Jerardi, Lapides, Norwood are Hall of Famers
Record-setting number of entries in best-writing contest
Lodge Notes: Gould leaves Sun-Times

Joe Mitch

SiriusXM, CBSSports.com partner with USBWA awards

USBWA Executive Director

Bookmark and Share  

The USBWA is getting some valuable national exposure on SiriusXM satellite radio and CBSSports.com.

SiriusXM Radio is exclusively announcing the USBWA's Oscar Robertson Player of the Week selection each Tuesday on "Inside College Basketball," co-hosted by Jason Horowitz and Bruce Pearl on the College Sports Nation channel. The finalists and winner of the Oscar Robertson Trophy for national player of the year will also be announced on SiriusXM. This is the fifth season that the USBWA has selected a national player of the week.

The USBWA's Tisdale Award for the national freshman of the year is being featured on CBSSports.com by USBWA member Jeff Borzello through his popular on-line column that spotlights the nation's top freshman. Each Tuesday, Borzello profiles a freshman of the week in addition to his weekly freshman watch. The Oscar player of the year and Tisdale freshman of the year awards, along with the Henry Iba Coach of the Year, the Ann Meyers Drysdale women's Player of the Year and the women's freshman and coach of the year awards, are all voted on by the USBWA membership at the end of the regular season.

Complete writing contest winners
Invite a colleague to join the USBWA
Follow the USBWA on Twitter @USBWA
Oscar Robertson Trophy: @TheBigOTrophy
Wayman Tisdale Award: @TisdaleFOYAward

Here is the schedule of announcements for the various USBWA awards this year:

• March 11: All-District teams
• March 12: All-America teams
• March 17: Wayman Tisdale Freshman of the Year
• March 24: Henry Iba Coach of the Year
• March 31: Women's All-America team
• April 4: Oscar Robertson Player of the Year
• April 8: Women's Player and Coach of the Year

The Tisdale, Iba and Oscar awards will be presented to the winners at a College Basketball Gala in Oklahoma City on April 14. The women's awards will be presented at the women's Final Four in Nashville, Tenn.

The USBWA player of the week selections are handled by the USBWA district representatives. Each week, a different district rep is responsible for reviewing the player of the week winners for each Division I conference and selecting an overall winner from that list. Mel Greenberg, the USBWA's coordinator for women's basketball, selects the women's national player of the week.

WELCOME TO THE BOARD: Kevin Brockway of the Gainesville Sun is the newest USBWA district representative and board member. He represents District IV, which is comprised of Tennessee, Kentucky, Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia and Florida. Kevin replaces Brendan F. Quinn, who left the Knoxville News-Sentinel to cover Michigan for MLive.com.

Other new board members this year are John Bohnenkamp, the Burlington (Iowa) Hawk Eye; Randy Rosetta, New Orleans Times-Picayune/NOLA.com; Robert Gagliardi, Wyoming Tribune Eagle; Bruce Pascoe, Arizona Daily Star; Brian Morrison, ACC; and Chris DiSano, College Chalktalk.

CONGRATULATIONS TO THE 2014 HALL OF FAME CLASS: It's great to see the selection of Dick Jerardi, Philadelphia Daily News; George Lapides, formerly with the Memphis Press-Scimitar; and Robyn Norwood, formerly with the Los Angeles Times, to the USBWA Hall of Fame.

Jerardi and Norwood are veteran writers and long-time members of the organization who were terrific as presidents of the USBWA. Norwood is the first woman to ever serve as USBWA president.

I first came to know Lapides when George was sports editor of the Press-Scimitar and I was assistant commissioner of media relations for the old Metro Conference from the mid-1970s to the early 1980s. Lapides is a legend in the Memphis area and a respected print journalist and a radio talk show host. His radio show, now in its 42nd year, is the longest-running sports radio program in the nation, and, it's been claimed, the second-longest in the country behind the Grand Ole Opry.

The USBWA now has 68 members in its Hall of Fame, which was first established in 1988 to honor past and present members for their achievements in sports journalism covering college basketball or for their contributions to the USBWA. To be eligible for consideration, an individual must have worked a minimum of 20 years as a sportswriter or college athletics administrator.

RECORD NUMBER OF WRITING CONTEST ENTRIES: The USBWA received 179 entries in this year's writing contest, the most ever in USBWA history. The contest is sponsored by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, Mass.

February 2021
December 2020
June 2020
January 2020
November 2019
May 2019
March 2019
January 2019
November 2018
May 2018
March 2018
January 2018
November 2017
May 2017
March 2017
January 2017
November 2016
May 2016
March 2016
January 2016
November 2015
May 2015
March 2015
January 2015
November 2014
May 2014
March 2014
January 2014
November 2013
May 2013
March 2013
January 2013
November 2012
May 2012
March 2012
January 2012
November 2011
August 2011
May 2011
March 2011
February 2011
November 2010
May 2010
March 2010
February 2010
November 2009
May 2009
April 2009
February 2009
November 2008
May 2008
April 2008
February 2008
November 2007
May 2007
March 2007
February 2007
November 2006
May 2006
March 2006
January 2006
November 2005
May 2005 (.pdf)
March 2005 (.pdf)
January 2005 (.pdf)
November 2004 (.pdf)
May 2004 (.pdf)
March 2004 (.pdf)
January 2004 (.pdf)
November 2003 (.pdf)
May 2003 (.pdf)
March 2003 (.pdf)
January 2003 (.pdf)
November 2002 (.pdf)
January 2002 (.pdf)
November 2001 (.pdf)