Vol. 47, No. 3 March 2010 .pdf version
Steve Carp: USBWA led to more than imagined
Joe Mitch: Breakfasts to be a Final Four highlight
John Bohnenkamp: A head-spinning two days
John Akers: Got a beef? Calm down and make the call
Byers, Myslenski, Withers enter USBWA's Hall of Fame
NIT's Chris Fallon wins prestigious Katha Quinn Award
Putting on a 'Full Court Press'

Joe Mitch

USBWA breakfasts figure to be a Final Four highlight

By JOE MITCH / Executive Director

The USBWA will once again honor its national men's player and coach of the year with an awards breakfast at the Final Four.

This year's breakfast will be held at 8 a.m. Friday, April 2, at the Columbia Club in downtown Indianapolis. The breakfast has become an annual tradition for USBWA events during the Final Four since the first awards breakfast was held in St. Louis in 2005.

The event has drawn sellout crowds to see presentation of the Oscar Robertson Player of the Year Trophy and the Henry Iba Coach of the Year Award.

USBWA members make introductory remarks about the recipients and serve as presenters of the awards, and one member serves as emcee for the breakfast.

Proceeds from the breakfast benefit the USBWA's scholarship program for students pursuing careers in sports journalism and provide funding for various member services, including the annual membership directory.

Purchase 2010 USBWA College Basketball Awards Breakfast tickets
Nominate a Rising Star Award candidate
VOTE FOR THE 2009-10

The USBWA also uses funds from the breakfast to make a charitable contribution to the National Kidney Foundation on behalf of Oscar Robertson, who donated a kidney to his daughter Tia several years ago.

Helping the USBWA market the event locally in Indianapolis and sell tickets to the breakfast is the marketing agency Compton Strategies, whose owner, Ray Compton, is a former sportswriter for the Indianapolis News.

Tickets for the breakfast are $75 each for the general public and $60 for USBWA members and can be purchased by calling Compton Strategies at 317-826-1175.

Annual Business Meeting and Awards Breakfast

This is traditionally held on the morning of the championship game and will be held at 9 a.m. on Monday, April 5, at the Indianapolis Marriott Downtown, Ballrooms 7-9.

The USBWA will present the Katha Quinn Award to Chris Fallon of the NIT and honor this year's Hall of Fame class, comprised of Skip Myslenski and Bud Withers and former NCAA Executive Director, Walter Byers, whose idea led to the formation of the USBWA in 1956.

The breakfast is free to members. USBWA's annual business meeting follows the awards' presentations.

Women's Final Four Breakfast

This event has struggled to attract as many writers as at the men's Final Four. Josh Krulewitz of ESPN, which sponsors both breakfasts, and Big East Conference women's media director Rachel Margolis have offered their help to increase attendance for this year's April 6 breakfast at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in San Antonio.

Besides presentation of the association's player and coach of the year awards, there are plans to feature speakers who can talk about issues dealing with the media and women's basketball.

USBWA Sportswriting Seminar

This year's seminar will be held Thursday morning, April 1, at the NCAA's headquarters in Indianapolis. Students from journalism programs at Indiana University and other surrounding universities are invited to attend a session featuring a panel of USBWA members and then are assigned events to cover at the men's NCAA Final Four, including one student whose assignment is the national championship game. Students can submit their stories in a writing contest, with the winner receiving a $1,000 scholarship from the USBWA.

Malcolm Moran, former USBWA president and now head of the John Curley Center for Sports Journalism at Penn State, is handling the seminar for the USBWA. Students can register for the seminar by contacting Malcolm via email at mum24@psu.edu.

February 2021
December 2020
June 2020
January 2020
November 2019
May 2019
March 2019
January 2019
November 2018
May 2018
March 2018
January 2018
November 2017
May 2017
March 2017
January 2017
November 2016
May 2016
March 2016
January 2016
November 2015
May 2015
March 2015
January 2015
November 2014
May 2014
March 2014
January 2014
November 2013
May 2013
March 2013
January 2013
November 2012
May 2012
March 2012
January 2012
November 2011
August 2011
May 2011
March 2011
February 2011
November 2010
May 2010
March 2010
February 2010
November 2009
May 2009
April 2009
February 2009
November 2008
May 2008
April 2008
February 2008
November 2007
May 2007
March 2007
February 2007
November 2006
May 2006
March 2006
January 2006
November 2005
May 2005 (.pdf)
March 2005 (.pdf)
January 2005 (.pdf)
November 2004 (.pdf)
May 2004 (.pdf)
March 2004 (.pdf)
January 2004 (.pdf)
November 2003 (.pdf)
May 2003 (.pdf)
March 2003 (.pdf)
January 2003 (.pdf)
November 2002 (.pdf)
January 2002 (.pdf)
November 2001 (.pdf)