Vol. 58, No. 2 February 2021 .pdf version
Seth Davis: The joy of delivering good news in tough times
Malcolm Moran: Indianapolis as a host city has come a long way, baby
Decorated quintet enters USBWA's Hall of Fame
Benner: One hell of a ride
Forde is a sports-writing quadruple threat
BriMo: Always putting media first
O'Neil: From the beer leagues to the big leagues
Tate: A half-century covering Illinois
Katha Quinn Award: Vance showed a lighter way to serve the media
Dean Smith Award: Raveling's 'retirement' led to greater influence

Decorated quintet enters USBWA's Hall of Fame

Bookmark and Share  

A longtime sports editor, three past presidents and a Katha Quinn Award winner comprise the 2021 USBWA's Hall of Fame class.

USBWA Hall of Fame
Katha Quinn Award
Dean Smith Award

Bill Benner served as the USBWA president from 1998-99, while he was in the midst of a 33-year career at the Indianapolis Star, the last 10 as a columnist. Benner covered 20 Final Fours for the Star, two Pan-Am Games (in Havana and Indianapolis) and three Olympic Games (in Seoul, Barcelona and Atlanta). He was recognized twice as the Indiana Sportswriter of the Year by the National Association of Sportswriters and Sportscasters. His work on the Indiana-Purdue rivalry during the Bob Knight and Gene Keady eras was must reading.

Pat Forde, who was a USBWA president from 2015-16, works for Sports Illustrated after eight years with Yahoo Sports, seven at ESPN.com and 17 with the Louisville Courier-Journal. He has covered college basketball throughout those 30-plus years as a sportswriter. He played an essential role in Yahoo's coverage of the scandal that led to the creation of the NCAA's Commission on College Basketball. His work has been recognized 18 times by the Associated Press Sports Editors and was nominated for a Pulitzer Prize in 1990.

Benner Forde Morrison O'Neil Tate

Dana O'Neil, the USBWA president from 2014-15, has primarily covered college basketball for more than 25 years at The Trentonian, Bucks County Courier Times, Philadelphia Daily News, ESPN.com and currently for The Athletic. She wrote the book "Long Shots" about Villanova's national championship in 2017 and is writing a book about Big East basketball that will be published later this year. "I discovered a real passion for basketball, actually, once I got my first job at the Trentonian," O'Neil said. "I was fortunate enough to cover the area colleges and not only loved the college game, but liked that fact that with fewer athletes on a team, you really got to know the players better."

Brian Morrison, the ACC's former director of media, won the USBWA's Katha Quinn Award in 2014, recognizing his excellence in servicing the media. Morrison made the ACC the most media-friendly power conference, fighting to provide the media with courtside seating at each ACC tournament and inviting longtime members of the media to attend after they had retired. Morrison is "the epitome of a media-relations person who saw his first duty to the media," said News & Observer columnist and USBWA Second Vice President Luke DeCock.

Loren Tate, 89, a longtime sports of the Champaign News Gazette, continues to write for the newspaper more than two years after announcing his retirement. Tate has covered generations of Illinois teams, including the Final Four teams of 1989 and 2005. His first job as a sports writer in Hammond, Ind., began in 1955, and he became sports editor in Champaign in 1966 with an emphasis on writing.

February 2021
December 2020
June 2020
February 2020
January 2020
November 2019
May 2019
March 2019
January 2019
November 2018
May 2018
March 2018
January 2018
November 2017
May 2017
March 2017
January 2017
November 2016
May 2016
March 2016
January 2016
November 2015
May 2015
March 2015
January 2015
November 2014
May 2014
March 2014
January 2014
November 2013
May 2013
March 2013
January 2013
November 2012
May 2012
March 2012
January 2012
November 2011
August 2011
May 2011
March 2011
February 2011
November 2010
May 2010
March 2010
February 2010
November 2009
May 2009
April 2009
February 2009
November 2008
May 2008
April 2008
February 2008
November 2007
May 2007
March 2007
February 2007
November 2006
May 2006
March 2006
January 2006
November 2005
May 2005 (.pdf)
March 2005 (.pdf)
January 2005 (.pdf)
November 2004 (.pdf)
May 2004 (.pdf)
March 2004 (.pdf)
January 2004 (.pdf)
November 2003 (.pdf)
May 2003 (.pdf)
March 2003 (.pdf)
January 2003 (.pdf)
November 2002 (.pdf)
January 2002 (.pdf)
November 2001 (.pdf)